Stories From The Watercooler CD (2008)

Artist: Johnny Matthais

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Revolver Usa
SKU 207988691
UPC 021392508122
UPC 14 05021392508122
Format CD
Release Date 6/24/2008
Author Johnny Matthais
Associated Artist/Work Cortical Songs
Technical Info
Engineer Sam Whitney-Morris; John White
Producer Coldcut; Chris Ellul; David Prior; Roy Merchant
CatalogID COUNTCD014
Lable Name Counter Records
Released 2008
Original Release 2008
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 05021392508122
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: John Matthias (vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, ukulele, violin, harmonium, synthesizer, tambourine, hand claps); Jez Taylor (electric guitar, ukulele); Ben Waghorn (flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, tenor saxophone); Matt Bowskill (accordion); David Prior (piano, double bass, programming, loops); Jonathan More (synthesizer, hand claps, drum programming, loops); Paul Bateman (bass guitar); Tony Plato (drums); Roy Merchant (bass drum, hand claps, drum programming, loops); Andrew Prior (programming); Bim Williams (loops, background vocals); Joe Matthias (sampler).
Audio Mixer: Roy Merchant.
Like many of his Bristol brethren, musician-cum-producer John Matthias creates music that blends traditional acoustic forms with the experimental structures enabled by digital technology. A frequent collaborator with similarly vanguard artists such as Radiohead, the Blue Aeroplanes, and Matthew Herbert, Matthias continues his solo production streak on STORIES FROM THE WATERCOOLER. Combining his love of classic song structures and live instrumentation with the textural sophistication of modern-day electronica, Matthias creates engaging, multi-faceted music that 's as tuneful as it is timeless.
Professional Reviews
CMJ - "The mix of undiluted sentiments and billowy music makes this a great album to get lost in."
Clash (magazine) (p.126) - "[Featuring] structured, clean beats and Matthias' deep, dry voice, which is all the more melancholy for his monotone. A real treat."
Disc 1
1 Open
2 Viper's Nest
3 I Will Disappear
4 Police Car
5 Blind Lead The Blind
6 Stockwell Road
7 Spinnaker
8 Stocktaking
9 King Of A Small Town
10 Evermore
11 It's Not
12 One Sunny Morning In The No-Fly Zone
Product Attributes
Artist Matthais,Johnny
Music Format Compact Disc
$10.40 + $2.98 shipping
$14.99 You save $4.59 (30%)
Earn 11 ($0.11) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Importcds
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™