The Book Of Joe (Paperback)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

AVERAGE RATING
5 out of 5
5
1
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Total Reviews
1
5
Overall Satisfaction
5
Value
5
Ease of Use
5
Performance

Deserves 10 stars!

on 7/14/2011

As a chick-lit fan and author, this book hit every requirement I look for in a book: a good story that flows and keeps me intrigued, an unlikely likeable character, sarcasm and wit, and the shedding of tears. If the back cover description doesn't suck you in, just start reading the first page. You won't be able to put it down. I locked myself away for two days so I could finish. The only bad part about this book was trying to find a new book that even came CLOSE to being as good once I was finished reading it. This book will really make you wonder just how much you really knew when you were a teenager, and what it would be like to really get back at people who burned you "way back when." Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

YESNO

Product Overview

After writing a novel that lampooned nearly everyone in his hometown, an author is forced to return to that same town to care for his father and discovers that people have not forgotten the indignities he heaped upon them. Reprint. 25,000 first printing. *Author: Tropper, Jonathan *Publication Date: 2005/01/25 *Number of Pages: 338 *Binding Type: Paperback *Language: English *Depth: 1.00 *Width: 5.75 *Height: 8.25

Specifications

Publisher Random House Inc
Mfg Part# 9780385338103
SKU 39951589
Format Paperback
ISBN10 0385338104
Release Date 1/25/2005
From the Publisher
Annotation Joe Goffman is a wildly successful novelist: his first book, which blew the lid off various scandals in his home town, was a best-seller. Now things aren't going so well. Living in posh comfort in Manhattan, Joe has doubts about his new novel. When his father has a stroke, Joe slinks home--where he is a pariah--to visit him. Encountering an old girlfriend (he still carries a torch), his old pal Wayne (who is dying of AIDS), and the wife of the coach he maligned in his novel, who attacks him in public. Can Joe survive all this? And will he ever write another book?
Editors Note Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Conneticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howlingly funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.From the Hardcover edition.
Editors Note 2 Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.Fans of Nick Horny and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.From the Hardcover edition.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0368
Publisher Bantam

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Buy.com
$10.97 + $2.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 24 hours
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $14.13 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
UnbeatableSale $15.60 + $2.75 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Brand New! 30 day money back guarantee.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $23.49 + $1.50 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$10.97 + $2.90 shipping
$16.00 You save $5.03 (31%)
Earn 11 ($0.11) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Buy.com
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back Sitewide with Promo Code REWARDME at Checkout - Ends 8/31/15 *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (4)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
Recent Product Reviews


Deserves 10 stars! on Jul 14, 2011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT