Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

The Book Of Joe (Paperback)

Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Book Of Joe Tropper, Jonathan 1 of 1
$16.00
(Save 32%)
$10.73 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 11 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
3 New
from
$10.73
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
Reviews
 

Product Details:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0385338104
ISBN-13: 9780385338103
Sku: 39951589
Publish Date: 1/25/2005
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.25H x 5.75L x 1T
Pages:  368
Age Range:  NA
See more in Fiction
 
After writing a novel that lampooned nearly everyone in his hometown, an author is forced to return to that same town to care for his father and discovers that people have not forgotten the indignities he heaped upon them. Reprint. 25,000 first printing. *Author: Tropper, Jonathan *Publication Date: 2005/01/25 *Number of Pages: 338 *Binding Type: Paperback *Language: English *Depth: 1.00 *Width: 5.75 *Height: 8.25
From the Publisher:
Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Conneticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howlingly funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.


From the Hardcover edition.Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.

Fans of Nick Horny and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.


From the Hardcover edition.
Annotation:
Joe Goffman is a wildly successful novelist: his first book, which blew the lid off various scandals in his home town, was a best-seller. Now things aren't going so well. Living in posh comfort in Manhattan, Joe has doubts about his new novel. When his father has a stroke, Joe slinks home--where he is a pariah--to visit him. Encountering an old girlfriend (he still carries a torch), his old pal Wayne (who is dying of AIDS), and the wife of the coach he maligned in his novel, who attacks him in public. Can Joe survive all this? And will he ever write another book?
Product Attributes
Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0368
Product attributePublisher:   Bantam
Advertisement Bottom