Ships from/sold by BookCloseouts
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

The Book of Three (Paperback)

Author:  Lloyd Alexander
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Book of Three Alexander, Lloyd  1 of 1
(Save 46%)
$3.74 + $3.99 SHIPPING
EARN 4 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
3 New and Used
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about The Book of Three:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0805080481
ISBN-13: 9780805080483
Sku: 202081793
Publish Date: 5/10/2006
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 7.5H x 5L x 0.5T
Pages:  190
Age Range:  12 to 16
Taran wanted to make a sword; but Coll, charged with the practical side of his education, decided on horseshoes. (from the first line)
Taran, Assistant Pig-Keeper to a famous oracular sow, sets out on a hazardous mission to save Prydain from the forces of evil. *Author: Alexander, Lloyd *Series Title: The Chronicles of Prydain *Publication Date: 2006/05/10 *Number of Pages: 188 *Binding Type: Paperback *Grade Level: 4-6 *Language: English *Depth: 0.50 *Width: 5.00 *Height: 7.50
In this first book in the quintet set in mythical Prydain and based on Welsh legend, honest Taran, the assistant pig-keeper, finds himself the prince's helper in battling The Horned King and saving Prydain from the forces of evil. Other titles in the series are "Black Cauldron", "The Castle of Llyr", "Taran Wanderer" and "The High King", which won the Newbery Medal.Partially inspired by Welsh mythology, THE BOOK OF THREE is the first entry in Lloyd Alexander's Chronicles of Prydain quintet. It tells the story of Taran, the assistant pig-keeper to the most powerful enchanter in the Kingdom of Prydain. Despite his humble life, Taran dreams of adventure and glory--a dream that comes true when he is sent on a quest to save the kingdom of Prydain from the forces of evil. Unbeknownst to Taran, this quest will ultimately reveal the secrets of his own life. Other books in the series are THE BLACK CAULDRON, THE CASTLE OF LLYR, TARAN WANDERER, and THE HIGH KING, which won the 1969 Newbery Award. A companion book, THE FOUNDLING AND OTHER TALES OF PRYDAIN, gives readers a further glimpse into life in Prydain.
Author Bio
Lloyd Alexander
Best known for his children's fantasy series, the Prydian Chronicles, Lloyd Alexander dropped out of college after one semester and joined the army to fight in World War II. After the war ended, the army transferred him to Paris to work in their counterintelligence unit, where he later requested a discharge to attend the Sorbonne. He met and married Janine Denni and the couple eventually moved, with Janine's young daughter, back to the U.S. Alexander's novels for children are a blend of fantasy and modern fables, many of which have roots in Welsh mythology. In 1969 he received the Newbery Medal for THE HIGH KING, which is the fifth book in the acclaimed Prydian Chronicles.


Book World
"Vividly conceived, romantic in mood, yet curiously contemporary in its immediacy and fast action...there are riches for every age."

Book World
"Vividly conceived, romantic in mood, yet curiously contemporary in its immediacy and fast action...there are riches for every age."

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeMinimum Age:   08
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0190
Product attributePublisher:   Henry Holt & Company
Product attributeSeries Part:   01
Advertisement Bottom