Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

The Boys in the Boat Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Hardcover)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
36%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Boys in the Boat Brown, Daniel James 1 of 1
$28.95
(Save 36%)
$18.42 + $3.35 SHIPPING
EARN 19 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 1 business day
3 New and Used
from
$18.42
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about The Boys in the Boat:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 067002581X
ISBN-13: 9780670025817
Sku: 245574966
Publish Date: 6/4/2013
Pages:  432
See more in Olympics
 
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand''s "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken" comes the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler''s 1936 Berlin Olympics. Brown draws on the team''s own journals, photos, and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream.
From the Publisher:
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics| | Daniel James Brown?s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington?s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together?a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.|
Drawing on the boys? own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times?the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.|

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0432
Product attributePublisher:   Viking Books
Advertisement Bottom