Sold Out
This product is currently not available.

The Dark Is Rising (Hardcover)

Author:  Susan Cooper
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Dark Is Rising Cooper, Susan 1 of 1

Learn more about The Dark Is Rising:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0613906063
ISBN-13: 9780613906067
Sku: 39812935
Publish Date: 2/25/2008
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 7.75H x 5.25L x 1T
Pages:  244
Age Range:  14 to College
See more in Science Fiction
"Too many!" James shouted, and slammed the door behind him.
"What?" said Will.
"Too many kids in this family, that what. Just too many." (from the first line)
"The Dark Is Rising" and "The Grey King" from the heart of Susan Cooper's acclaimed fantasy sequence. Now these Newbery classics are available in digest editions to reach the younger readers who have made "The Boggart" a bestselling book. In "Dark, " Will Stanton learns that he is the last-born of the Old Ones on his 11th birthday and is plunged into a quest that will help him prepare himself for the battle between the dark and the light.
Continuing the story begun in OVER SEA, UNDER STONE, THE DARK IS RISING is the second book in Susan Cooper's popular fantasy quintet. Here readers meet Will Stanton, the seventh son of a seventh son, who, on his 11th birthday, discovers that he is an Old One, a group of immortals charged with saving the world from the evil forces known as the Dark. Under the guidance of Merriman Lyon, Will prepares for his part in the battle by searching for, and bringing together, the Six Signs of the Light--magical elements needed by the Old Ones to defeat the Dark. A classic story of the battle between good and evil, THE DARK IS RISING reflects the influence of both Celtic mythology and the Arthurian legend. It was named a 1974 Newbery Honor Book. The rest of the books in the series are GREENWITCH, THE GREY KING (winner of the 1976 Newbery Medal), and SILVER ON THE TREE.
Author Bio
Susan Cooper
Susan Cooper was raised during the chaos and horror of World War II. When she was 27, she married American widower Nicholas Grant and moved from England to the United States to live with him and his three children. Cooper has remained in the U.S., where she writes her books, many of which are based on English and Welsh myths. In 1976 she won the Newbery Medal for THE GREY KING, part of her Dark Is Rising series based on the legend of King Arthur. In addition to these young adult works, Cooper also works as a journalist and a playwright. She is admired for her picture books, including THE SILVER COW: A WELSH TALE and THE SELKIE GIRL.

Product Attributes

Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeMinimum Age:   10
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0244
Product attributePublisher:   Turtleback Books
Advertisement Bottom