The Films of Samuel Fuller : If You Die, I'll Kill You (Hardcover)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

First comprehensive study of this American original


Publisher Univ Pr of New England
Mfg Part# 9780819568663
SKU 206791490
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 081956866X
Release Date 3/8/2008
Dimensions (in Inches) 9H x 6.5L x 1T
From the Publisher
Editors Note A cigar-chomping storyteller who signaled "Action!" by shooting a gun, Samuel Fuller has been lionized as one of the most distinctive writer/directors ever to emerge from Hollywood. In such films as The Steel Helmet, Pickup on South Street, Shock Corridor, and The Big Red One, Fuller gleefully challenged classical and generic norms--and often standards of good taste--in an effort to shock and arouse audiences. Tackling war, crime, race, and sexuality with a candor rare for any period, Fuller's maverick vision was tested by Hollywood's transition from the studio system to independent filmmaking. Now, in the first full account of all of the director's audaciously original work, author Lisa Dombrowski brings his career into new relief. The Films of Samuel Fuller features close analysis of Fuller's pictures and draws on previously untapped production and regulatory files, script notes, and interviews to explore how artistic, economic, and industrial factors impacted Fuller's career choices and shaped the expression of his personal aesthetic. Fans of Fuller and American cinema will welcome this in-depth study of a provocative director who embodied both the unique opportunities and challenges of postwar filmmaking.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Hardcover
Number of Pages 0246
Publisher Wesleyan University Press

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping
$17.58 + $3.35 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

On Order
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $22.22 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Ria Christie Collections $32.39 + $7.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$17.58 + $3.35 shipping
$27.95 You save $10.37 (37%)
Earn 18 ($0.18) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Hardcover
Condition: Brand New
More coming soon, order now. On Order
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.
Buy From Other Sellers (3)
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders


We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.


You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo