Ships from/sold by BookCloseouts
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options

The Gathering Storm (Hardcover)

Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Gathering Storm Jordan, Robert/ Sanderson, Brandon 1 of 1
(Save 74%)
$7.60 + $3.99 SHIPPING
EARN 8 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
5 New and Used
See all sellers
View My Store
More Buying Options
Seller Information

Learn more about The Gathering Storm:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0765302306
ISBN-13: 9780765302304
Sku: 211003106
Publish Date: 10/27/2009
Pages:  784
See more in Fantasy / Epic
"A Memory of Light," the final book of the Wheel of Time series, was partially completed by Jordan before his untimely death. "New York Times"-bestselling author Sanderson pens "The Gathering Storm," the first of three novels to conclude Jordan''s bestselling series.
From the Publisher:
A first installment in a new arc in the The Wheel of Time series follows the efforts of Dragon Reborn Rand al'Thor to unite a fractured network of kingdoms and alliances to prepare for battle against the Shadow, in a book planned by the late best-selling author before his death. One million first printing. $600,000 ad/promo.A first installment in a new arc in the The Wheel of Time series follows the efforts of Dragon Reborn Rand al'Thor to unite a fractured network of kingdoms and alliances to prepare for battle against the Shadow, in a book planned by the late best-selling author before his death. One million first printing. $600,000 ad/promo.The final volume of The Wheel of Time, A Memory of Light, was partially written by Robert Jordan before his untimely passing in 2007. Brandon Sanderson was chosen by Jordan's editor - his wife, Harriet McDougal - to complete the final book. The scope and size of the volume was such that it could not be contained in a single book.|The Gathering storm is the first of three novels that will cover the outline left by Robert Jordan, chronicling Tarmon Gai'don and Rand al'Thor's final confrontation with the Dark One. This short sequence will complete the struggle against the Shadow, bringing to a close a journey begun almost twenty years ago and marking the conclusion of The Wheel of Time.|In this epic novel, Robert Jordan's series begins its dramatic conclusion. Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, struggles to unite a fractured network of kingdoms and alliances in preparation for the Last Battle. As he attempts to halt the Seanchan encroachment northward - wishing he could form at least a temporary truce with the invaders - his allies watch in terror the shadow that seems to be growing within the heart of the Dragon Reborn himself.|Egwene al'Vere, the Amyrlin Seat of the rebel Aes Sedai, is a captive of the White Tower and subject to the whims of their tyrannical leader. As days tick toward the Seanchan attack she knows is imminent, Egwene works to hold together the disparate factions of Aes Sedai while providing leadership in the face of increasing uncertainty and despair. Her fight will prove the mettle of the Aes Sedai, and her conflict will decide the future of the White Tower - and possibly the world itself.|The Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.
After the death of Robert Jordan, devoted fans of his Wheel of Time series wondered if--and how--the epic saga might be concluded. The fantasy author's editor and wife, Harriet McDougal, chose acclaimed novelist Brandon Sanderson to write the 12th book in the series. Though presumed to be the conclusion, A MEMORY OF LIGHT proved too much for a single volume, and the saga will total 14 books, with THE GATHERING STORM marking the first part of the concluding trilogy. Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, prepares to fight the Dark One at the Last Battle, but he cannot do it alone. Though the nations are divided, he hopes to create a unified force to fight the evil army. However, the Dark One, the surviving (and resurrected) Forsaken, and their minions aren't Rand's only enemies: the Seanchan still threaten to overtake the land, and a menace lurks inside him as well. Meanwhile, Jordan's emphasis on strong female characters--often a rarity in high fantasy--continues with THE GATHERING STORM's focus on Egwene, who leads the Aes Sedai rebels. Rand's fight may fulfill prophecy, but Egwene's own struggle also has the ability to change the future of their world.
Author Bio
Robert Jordan
As a child, Robert Jordan (born James Oliver Rigney, Jr.) was exposed to writing by his older brother, who read Jules Verne, H. G. Wells, and Mark Twain to him while babysitting. At the age of 20, Jordan went to Vietnam, eventually serving two tours of duty and receiving several decorations. After the war, he earned a degree in physics at the Citadel, a military college, and became a nuclear engineer for the Navy. Starting in 1984, Jordan wrote a series of eight well-received books based on the Conan the Barbarian character created by Robert E. Howard in 1932. Toward the end of this series, Jordan began work on the books upon which his name will ultimately be remembered. THE EYE OF THE WORLD, published in 1990, is the first book in his massive Wheel of Time series. Averaging between 700 and 1,000 pages, each new volume in this series seems to outsell its predecessor. Projected to span a total of 10 volumes, the Wheel of Time is often cited as the closest an American has come to writing a fantasy epic as well-rounded as Tolkien's THE LORD OF THE RINGS. In the meantime, Jordan has written westerns, historical novels, dance criticism, and other non-fiction work under several different pseudonyms.
Entertainment Reviews
Expert Review The Gathering Storm by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson - Book Review
By: Amanda Reviews
Published on: 12/2/2009 9:49 AM
When Robert Jordan passed away in 2007 from a rare blood disease, fantasy fans everywhere hung their heads and cried. The genre had lost a modern legend, a man who brought the Tolkien-esque world of The Wheel of Time to life and reinvigorated the epic fantasy genre. Not only was Jordan gone, but his beloved series remained unfinished. But there was a ray of hope. Jordan kept extensive notes detailing the final volume of his series, A Memory of Light, in hopes that someone would complete the series for his fans. After Jordan’s death, his wife Harriet and publishing company TOR selected Brandon Sanderson to complete the the full review


"STORM [has] a terrific sense of urgency--the book's 700-plus pages go by in a flash--and a blessed willingness to tie up loose ends." - Zack Handlen 11/19/2009

Product Attributes

Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0784
Product attributePublisher:   Tor Books
Product attributeSeries Part:   12
Advertisement Bottom