Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

The Gathering Storm (Paperback)

Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Gathering Storm Jordan, Robert/ Sanderson, Brandon 1 of 1
(Save 30%)
$6.97 + $3.75 SHIPPING
EARN 7 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
2 New and Used
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about The Gathering Storm:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 0765341530
ISBN-13: 9780765341532
Sku: 214983869
Publish Date: 9/28/2010
Pages:  1098
See more in Fantasy / Epic
"The Gathering Storm" is the first of three books that will complete the struggle against the Shadow, bringing to a close a journey begun almost 20 years ago and marking the conclusion of The Wheel of Time, created by Jordan and completed by Sanderson.
After the death of Robert Jordan, devoted fans of his Wheel of Time series wondered if--and how--the epic saga might be concluded. The fantasy author's editor and wife, Harriet McDougal, chose acclaimed novelist Brandon Sanderson to write the 12th book in the series. Though presumed to be the conclusion, A MEMORY OF LIGHT proved too much for a single volume, and the saga will total 14 books, with THE GATHERING STORM marking the first part of the concluding trilogy. Rand al'Thor, the Dragon Reborn, prepares to fight the Dark One at the Last Battle, but he cannot do it alone. Though the nations are divided, he hopes to create a unified force to fight the evil army. However, the Dark One, the surviving (and resurrected) Forsaken, and their minions aren't Rand's only enemies: the Seanchan still threaten to overtake the land, and a menace lurks inside him as well. Meanwhile, Jordan's emphasis on strong female characters--often a rarity in high fantasy--continues with THE GATHERING STORM's focus on Egwene, who leads the Aes Sedai rebels. Rand's fight may fulfill prophecy, but Egwene's own struggle also has the ability to change the future of their world.
Author Bio
Robert Jordan
As a child, Robert Jordan (born James Oliver Rigney, Jr.) was exposed to writing by his older brother, who read Jules Verne, H. G. Wells, and Mark Twain to him while babysitting. At the age of 20, Jordan went to Vietnam, eventually serving two tours of duty and receiving several decorations. After the war, he earned a degree in physics at the Citadel, a military college, and became a nuclear engineer for the Navy. Starting in 1984, Jordan wrote a series of eight well-received books based on the Conan the Barbarian character created by Robert E. Howard in 1932. Toward the end of this series, Jordan began work on the books upon which his name will ultimately be remembered. THE EYE OF THE WORLD, published in 1990, is the first book in his massive Wheel of Time series. Averaging between 700 and 1,000 pages, each new volume in this series seems to outsell its predecessor. Projected to span a total of 10 volumes, the Wheel of Time is often cited as the closest an American has come to writing a fantasy epic as well-rounded as Tolkien's THE LORD OF THE RINGS. In the meantime, Jordan has written westerns, historical novels, dance criticism, and other non-fiction work under several different pseudonyms.


"STORM [has] a terrific sense of urgency--the book's 700-plus pages go by in a flash--and a blessed willingness to tie up loose ends." - Zack Handlen 11/19/2009

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Pocketbook
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   1098
Product attributePublisher:   Tor Books
Product attributeSeries Part:   12
Advertisement Bottom