The Glass Castle : A Memoir (Paperback) - Walls, Jeannette

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

AVERAGE RATING
5 out of 5
5
1
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Total Reviews
1
5
Overall Satisfaction
5
Value
5
Ease of Use
5
Performance

I'm not sure since it's a gift

by Adri on 11/17/2012

Cheap, in great condition, and the gift receiver loved it. Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

YESNO

Product Overview

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family.

Specifications

Publisher Simon & Schuster
Mfg Part# 9780743247542
SKU 31282240
Format Paperback
ISBN10 074324754X
Release Date 1/9/2006
Physical
Dimensions (in Inches) 7.75H x 5.25L x 0.5T
Praise
"An account of growing up omadic, starry-eyed, and dirt poor in the '60s and '70s....A pull-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps, thoroughly American story."
"What saves this book from mind-numbing grimness is the family's extraordinary resilience. You'll root for them."
"The memoir offers a catalog of nightmares that the Walls children were encouraged to see as comic or thrilling episodes in the family romance....Walls has a telling memory for detail and an appealing, unadorned style. And there's something admirable about her refusal to indulge in amateur psychoanalysis, to descend to the jargon of dysfunction....But what's best is the deceptive ease with which she makes us see just how she and her siblings were convinced that their turbulent life was a glorious adventure....Walls is notably evenhanded and unjudging....THE GLASS CASTLE falls short of being art, but it's a very good memoir."
"[A] remarkably dispassionate account which, precisely because of the detachment of its prose, is also extraordinarily moving. Jeannette Walls's parents here join a distinguished roster of memorable monsters."
From the Publisher
Annotation Jeannette Walls's memoir revolves around her parents, who give the concept of bad parenting a whole new meaning. Her irresponsible romantic of a father was an inventor of outlandishly useless devices, and her mother, an artist, was his abettor. As the two of them dragged the family around the country on the run from creditors and from one bad idea to another, they virtually ignored their four hapless children, except when they were giving them shoplifting lessons or stealing their money for booze. Walls writes about these years with a hardheaded, clear-eyed acceptance and very little recrimination, and she doesn't neglect her parents' virtues, which she manages to wrest out of the slag heap: their values were both generous and idealistic, they produced self-reliant children, and they were true originals.
Editors Note The second child of a scholarly, alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing from the Arizona desert, to Las Vegas, to an Appalachian mining town, during which her siblings and she fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0288
Publisher Scribner Book Company

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
BookCloseouts $5.49 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Used-Good
In Stock
BookCloseouts scratch & dent version. New book that may have some cosmetic damage (i.e. shelf-wear, torn or missing dust jacket, dented corner...). Otherwise excellent specimen - guaranteed! Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Buy.com
$10.18 + $3.35 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 24 hours
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $13.64 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$10.18 + $3.35 shipping
$16.00 You save $5.82 (36%)
Earn 11 ($0.11) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Buy.com
For Books, Music, Movies & TV place over $40 (before tax and shipping charges) of eligible products in your shopping basket. Not valid with marketplace products, other restrictions apply.
ADVERTISEMENT
Buy From Other Sellers (3)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
Recent Product Reviews


I'm not sure since it's a gift by Adri on Nov 17, 2012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT