The Grammar of God : A Journey into the Words and Worlds of the Bible (Hardcover)

Author: Kushner, Aviya

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

For readers of Bruce Feiler?s Walking the Bible and Kathleen Norris?sThe Cloister Walk comes a powerful exploration of the Bible in translation.

Aviya Kushner grew up in a Hebrew-speaking family, reading the Bible in the original Hebrew and debating its meaning over the dinner table. She knew much of it by heart?and was therefore surprised when, while getting her MFA at the University of Iowa, she took the novelist Marilynne Robinson?s class on the Old Testament and discovered she barely recognized the text she thought she knew so well. From differences in the Ten Commandments to a less ambiguous reading of the creation story to a new emphasis on the topic of slavery, the English translation often felt like another book entirely from the one she had grown up with.

Kushner began discussing the experience with Robinson, who became a mentor, and her interest in the differences between the ancient language and the modern one gradually became an obsession. She began what became a ten-year project of reading different versions of the Hebrew Bible in English and traveling the world in the footsteps of the great biblical translators, trying to understand what compelled them to take on a lifetime project that was often considered heretical and in some cases resulted in their deaths.

In this eye-opening chronicle, Kushner tells the story of her vibrant relationship to the Bible, and along the way illustrates how the differences in translation affect our understanding of our culture?s most important written work. A fascinating look at language and the beliefs we hold most dear, The Grammar of God is also a moving tale about leaving home and returning to it, both literally and through reading.

Praise for The Grammar of God

?Aviya Kushner has written a passionate, illuminating essay about meaning itself.The Grammar of God is also a unique personal narrative, a family story with the Bible and its languages as central characters.??Robert Pinsky

?Kushner is principally interested in the meanings and translations of key Biblical passages, and she pursues this interest with a fierce passion. . . . A paean, in a way, to the rigors and frustrations?and ultimate joys?of trying to comprehend the unfathomable.??Kirkus Reviews

?A remarkable and passionately original book of meditation, exegesis, and memoir. The biblical passages are of a piece with stories of Kushner?s childhood, her quest to become a writer, and commemoration of her Israeli grandfather, the only one of his German family to escape extinction at the hands of the Nazis. In Kushner?s redemptive vision, the Bible in its many translations is a Noah?s ark, and her book, too, does a work of saving. When I put it down, I wept.??Rosanna Warren, author ofStained Glass

?What a glorious book! From Sarah?s laughter to the idea of Jewish law being a dialogue and not a rigid set of rules, this is a book not only to learn from but to savor.??Peter Orner, author ofLove and Shame and Love

?In this splendid book, each page is a wonder.??Willis Barnstone, author of The Restored New Testament

?Kushner reminds us in The Grammar of God that in Hebrew beautiful things are also beautiful words. Her gift as a writer is to take us very near to the text, breathe into it, and give it a new life.??Rodger Kamenetz, author ofThe Jew in the Lotus

Specifications

Publisher Spiegel & Grau
Mfg Part# 9780385520829
SKU 210676335
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 0385520824
Release Date 9/8/2015
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Hardcover
Number of Pages 0208
Publisher Spiegel & Grau

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
VNHM SHOP $22.93 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
ShopSpell $22.09 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
Brand New In Stock
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Athena Express $31.17 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New and Best Brand Name Products! Ships Within 1-2 Business Days With Tracking!
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
University Bookstore $102.58 + $5.98 shipping
Condition: Used-Good
In Stock
Ships with Tracking Number! 30 day returns. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! 6i 0385520824
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$22.93 + free shipping
$27.00 You save $4.07 (15%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 23 ($0.23) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Get this item for
(price with shipping)
(redeem points)
Format: Hardcover
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  VNHM SHOP
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (4)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT