The Millionaires' Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power (AudioCassetteUnabridged)

Author: Wortman, Marc

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

The Millionaires'' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

Specifications

Publisher Tantor Media
Mfg Part# 9781400152506
SKU 202535155
Format Audio Cassette Unabridged
ISBN10 140015250X
Release Date 4/10/2007
From the Publisher
Annotation In this fascinating yet little-known chapter of World War I history, journalist Marc Wortman provides a group portrait of young men of privilege--with names like Rockefeller and Morgan--who served in the U.S. Navy Air Reserve, flying dangerous missions over France. Wortman focuses on six of them, all from Yale University, who were driven by a sincere sense of service and by a search for adventure, and he traces their sometimes glamorous adventures on land and conveys how they were enthralled by the new experience of flight. He tells, too, of the realities of combat, and recounts how some returned home to assume lives of leadership while others made the ultimate sacrifice.
Editors Note The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.
Product Attributes
Book Format Audio Cassette - Unabridged
Number of Pages 8
Publisher Tantor Media
loading
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT