Ships from/sold by Buy.com
advertisement

The Millionaires' Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War And Invented American Air Power ( Audio Cassette Unabridged)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Millionaires Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power Wortman, Marc/ Lawlor, Patrick (NRT) 1 of 1
$29.99
(Save 32%)
$20.21 + $3.10 SHIPPING
EARN 21 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Audio Cassette Unabridged
ALSO AVAILABLE: Other Formats Choose Format
CONDITION:  Brand New
TEMPORARILY SOLD OUT.:
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
 

Product Details:

Format:  Audio Cassette Unabridged
ISBN-10: 140015250X
ISBN-13: 9781400152506
Sku: 202535155
Publish Date: 4/10/2007
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 5.25H x 7.5L x 0.5T
Pages:  8
Age Range:  NA
 
The Millionaires'' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.
Annotation:
In this fascinating yet little-known chapter of World War I history, journalist Marc Wortman provides a group portrait of young men of privilege--with names like Rockefeller and Morgan--who served in the U.S. Navy Air Reserve, flying dangerous missions over France. Wortman focuses on six of them, all from Yale University, who were driven by a sincere sense of service and by a search for adventure, and he traces their sometimes glamorous adventures on land and conveys how they were enthralled by the new experience of flight. He tells, too, of the realities of combat, and recounts how some returned home to assume lives of leadership while others made the ultimate sacrifice.
Product Attributes
Product attributeBook Format:   Audio Cassette - Unabridged
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   8
Product attributePublisher:   Tantor Media
Advertisement Bottom