The Nashville Acoustic Sessions CD (2004)

Artist: Raul Malo

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Cmh Records
SKU 60628511
UPC 027297870925
UPC 14 00027297870925
Format CD
Release Date 4/6/2004
Author Raul Malo
Technical Info
Engineer Oz Fritz; Oz Fritz
Producer John Wooler; John Wooler
CatalogID 8709
Lable Name CMH Records
Released 03/30/2004
Original Release 2004
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00027297870925
Album Notes and Credits
Personnel: Raul Malo (vocals, acoustic guitar); Raul Malo; Dave Pomeroy (bass guitar); Pat Flynn (guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, background vocals); Rob Ickes (slide guitar, dobro, background vocals); Jim Hoke (harmonica); Lenny Castro (percussion); Siedah Garrett (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Oz Fritz.
Recording information: Monkey Finger Studio, Nashville, TN.
True to its title, The Nashville Acoustic Sessions is a set of acoustic-based music that finds the Mavericks frontman Raul Malo collaborating with three well-respected Nashville musicians (guitarist/mandolinist Pat Flynn, Rob Ickes, and bassist Dave Pomeroy). The acoustic setting results in much more pared-down arrangements than Malo's recent records (whether with his band or his one solo outing, 2001's Today). This disc of cover tunes is also Malo's most twang-centric in years; however, it doesn't lack eclecticism. Songs are drawn from country icons Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers, and the Louvin Brothers, as well as more contemporary figures like Gordon Lightfoot, Gram Parsons, and Bob Dylan; there are also a pair of standards: "Moon River" and "(I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons." The disc starts off with a solid yet obvious selection, Roy Orbison's "Blue Bayou," as Malo's vocals have long been compared to Orbison. Although he doesn't soar to Orbison's otherworldly heights, his passionate singing conveys the song's melancholy mood. After a decent but rather sedate rendering of Lightfoot's "Early Morning Rain," the album picks up steam with the gospel-tinged Louvin Brothers tune "Great Atomic Power," which is followed by an aching rendition of Williams' "Weary Blues From Waiting," and Dylan's "You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go," which gets a spry country workout here. The disc's second half -- demarcated by an "instrumental break" of Jimmie Rodgers' "Waiting for a Train" -- is more of a mixed bag. The highlights include strong versions of Gram Parsons' "Hot Burrito #1" and Van Morrison's "Bright Side of the Road." However, both "Moon River" and "Sentimental Reasons" come off sounding a bit too lounge. These tunes accentuate the slicker qualities of Malo's otherwise wonderfully rich vocals. The nimble but easygoing performances delivered by the trio of instrumentalists perfectly suit this disc's relaxed feel. Flynn and Ickes particularly stand out on the touching version of "When I Stop Dreaming," the record's other Louvin Brothers number. While this all-covers collection doesn't reinvent the wheel, it provides 40 minutes of classic tunes delightfully done up as good, old-fashioned country music. ~ Michael Berick
Professional Reviews
Dirty Linen (p.64) - "Each of the songs is a standout and from diverse genres....Can't get much better than this. Period."
Disc 1
1 Blue Bayou - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
2 Early Morning Rain - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
3 Great Atomic Power, The - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
4 Weary Blues From Waiting - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
5 You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
6 Waiting For A Train - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
7 When I Stop Dreaming - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
8 Moon River - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
9 Hot Burrito #1 - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
10 Bright Side Of The Road - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
11 For Sentimental Reasons, (I Love You) - (with Flynn/Ickes/Pomeroy/Raul Malo)
Product Attributes
Artist Malo,Raul
Label Cmh Records
Music Format Compact Disc

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Blow It Outa Here $15.57 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All products are BRAND NEW and factory sealed. Fast shipping with tracking and delivery confirmation! 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Importcds $12.63 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns
All our items are brand new - Ships directly from our Warehouse in California - Estimated delivery time: 5-7 days after shipment.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$15.57 + free shipping
$16.98 You save $1.41 (8%)
Rakuten Super Points Earn 16 ($0.16) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Blow It Outa Here
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™