Ships from/sold by

The New Springtime (Hardcover)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The New Springtime Silverberg, Robert 1 of 1
(Save 10%)
$26.97 + $3.75 SHIPPING
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
45 day return policy

Learn more about The New Springtime:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 044651442X
ISBN-13: 9780446514422
Sku: 36401716
Publish Date: 4/10/2007
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 9.5H x 6.25L x 1T
Pages:  372
Age Range:  NA
From the Publisher:
Forty years after the foundation of a new settlement by Hresh and Taniane, the two capitals of the People are threatened by internal strife, factionalism, and a new war with the insect-like hjjks.
Hundreds of thousands of years in Earth's future, as the planet slowly wakes from centuries of deep freeze, various tribes vie for supremacy--until the Hjjks, a bizarre insect-like species, threaten to vanquish all other creatures.
Author Bio
Robert Silverberg
Though Robert Silverberg is mainly known for his science fiction writing--more than 60 sf novels and over 250 short stories!--he has also edited numerous anthologies, is a respected critic, and has written over 30 non-fiction titles on topics ranging from mythology to Native American burial mounds. Silverberg began writing in college, publishing his first story in 1954 while he was an undergraduate at Columbia University. He published his debut novel, REVOLT ON APLHA C, a year later, while a junior in college. In 1956, Silverberg won his first Hugo Award, as best new author, and married Barbara Brown. The couple collaborated on one story, "Deadlock" (1959), eventually separating in 1976 and divorcing in 1986. Meanwhile, the 1950s proved incredibly prolific for Silverberg. Between 1954 and 1960, he published seven novels and more than 115 short stories under his own name, not to mention hundreds of others under a variety of pseudonyms. During the 1960s, he published 15 novels and, while his short-story output went way down (to 38), he won his first Nebula for "Passengers," and a second Hugo, for "Nightwings," both in 1969. He also served as president of the Science Fiction Writers of America from 1967 to 1968. Silverberg seemed to have settled into a fairly constant pace with his writing in the 1970s but, unhappy with what he perceived as a lack of appreciation, he slowed down his writing drastically in the latter half of the decade. Nevertheless, he still managed to publish 11 novels and over 40 stories during the '70s, winning three more Nebulas--for A TIME OF CHANGES (1971), "Good News from the Vatican" (1971), and "Born With the Dead" (1974)--and began to edit the influential anthology series Alpha and New Horizons. The 1980s saw him win a number of further accolades for short stories--including "Sailing to Byzantium" (Nebula, 1985), "Gilgamesh in the Outback" (Hugo, 1987), and "Enter a Soldier. Later: Enter Another" (written in 1989, Hugo awarded in 1990)--and begin his second marriage, to Karen L. Hubley, in 1987. In 1990 he started a new anthology series, Universe, which he co-edited with Hubley. In 1995, the first film based on one of Silverberg's works appeared. Based on a 1983 short story of the same name, AMANDA AND THE ALIEN starred model Nicole Eggert and, though not a critical or commercial success, did attain a certain cult status on the late-night cable circuit. Silverberg even had a small role in the film. Silverberg continues to write fiction and nonfiction, and seems to have settled into a role as something of an elder statesman of the science fiction community, a position he clearly deserves.

Product Attributes

Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0372
Product attributePublisher:   Grand Central Publishing
Advertisement Bottom