Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

The Professor of Secrets Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy (Hardcover)

Author:  William Eamon
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Professor of Secrets Eamon, William 1 of 1
$26.00
(Save 26%)
$18.99 + $3.75 SHIPPING
EARN 19 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
Very few left In Stock! Order soon -- product may sell out.
2 New
from
$18.99
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
promo
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about The Professor of Secrets:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 142620650X
ISBN-13: 9781426206504
Sku: 212818970
Publish Date: 7/20/2010
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 9.5H x 6.5L x 1.25T
Pages:  368
See more in Renaissance
 
In the tradition of "Galileo''s Daughter" and "Brunelleschi''s Dome, " this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance--in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy--through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti''s marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age''s most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, "The Professor of Secrets" entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.
From the Publisher:
In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance—in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy—through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0368
Product attributePublisher:   National Geographic Society
Advertisement Bottom