The Professor of Secrets : Mystery, Medicine, and Alchemy in Renaissance Italy (Hardcover)

Author: Eamon, William

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

In the tradition of "Galileo''s Daughter" and "Brunelleschi''s Dome, " this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance--in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy--through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti''s marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age''s most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, "The Professor of Secrets" entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.

Specifications

Publisher Random House Inc
Mfg Part# 9781426206504
SKU 212818970
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 142620650X
Release Date 7/20/2010
Physical
Dimensions (in Inches) 9.5H x 6.5L x 1.25T
From the Publisher
Editors Note In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance—in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy—through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Hardcover
Number of Pages 0368
Publisher National Geographic Society
loading
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
ADVERTISEMENT
Buy From Other Sellers (0)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT