Ships from/sold by
See All Buying Options

The Razorbacks A Story of Arkansas Football (Paperback)

Author:  Orville/ Bailey Henry Joint Author:  Jim Bailey
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Razorbacks Henry, Orville/ Bailey, Jim 1 of 1
(Save 37%)
$15.70 + $3.80 SHIPPING
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Paperback
More inventory may be available. Place your order today and be one of the first to receive this product when it arrives!
Alert me when this item is in stock.
1 New
See all sellers
45 day return policy
More Buying Options

Learn more about The Razorbacks:

Format: Paperback
ISBN-10: 155728430X
ISBN-13: 9781557284303
Sku: 30268848
Publish Date: 11/8/2010
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 10H x 7.25L x 1.25T
Pages:  463
See more in Football
From the humble beginnings in 1894, to the great programs of Frank Broyles, the National Championship in 1964, and Lou Holtz's Orange Bowl victory over Oklahoma in 1978; and then to Arkansas's recent re-entry into the national rankings with bowl invitations -- the whole spectrum of Hog football is covered in this lively chronicle.
From the Publisher:
Razorback football is an obsession in Arkansas, from the Ozarks to the Delta, and a rallying point for displaced Arkansans everywhere. The whole history of Hog football is covered in this lively chronicle.|The story begins in 1894, when the playing field was a patch of spriggy dirt and the team players were derided as "thugs, pug-uglies, and roughnecks" by a local newspaper. For a time, Arkansas suffered sporadic losing seasons as the only non-Texas team in the Southwest Conference. Then Frank Broyles turned the program around and won a national championship in 1964. Later, Lou Holtz stunned the nation with a Razorback Orange Bowl victory over Oklahoma in 1978. In the 1990s, the Hogs have arrived in the Southeastern Conference, reentered national rankings, and gained bowl invitations.|All the great names and major players are here, including Hugo Bezdek, Steve Creekmore, Wear Schoonover, John Barnhill, Preston Carpenter, Lance Alworth, Ken Hatfield, Bobby Crockett, Jim Lindsey, Jerry Jones, Bill Montgomery, Chuck Dicus, Ben Cowins, Ron Calcagni, Billy Ray Smith, Quinn Grovey, Danny Ford, Madre Hill, J. J. Meadors, and many more. Complete appendices detail the game schedules and statistics, the roster of coaches, the bowl game results, a list of all the lettermen, and the statistics of selected players.

Product Attributes

Product attributeBook Format:   Paperback
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0463
Product attributePublisher:   University of Arkansas Press
Advertisement Bottom