The Ruins (Hardcover)

Author: Farrell, Trace

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

This magical novel is rich in plot and characters as well as a skillful use of language that is nothing less than musical.--Library Journal"Demonstrating a vein of perversity all her own, Farrell makes a strong bid to join the company of elite postmodern comic writers like Coover and Pynchon. Her exciting, funny debut features a naive shoeshine boy who suddenly finds himself working at an infernal upscale restaurant calledThe Ruins."--Publishers WeeklySet among the spinning cogs and wheels of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical Elect,"The Ruinsis a black-eyed, Machiavellian fairy tale for adults, a gleeful cautionary discourse on ambition and ingratitude, and the penalties for disbelief in those forces within oneself.Like all fairy tales, it turns on subjectionthe increasingly comic and catastrophic subjection of "our hero, Tom," a high-minded and half-starved shoeshine boy. Tom shifts for himself in a dank and vaguely apocalyptic city where "the days come and go in a flat, lurid tide, noon and midnight like sullen twins, so indifferently does light distinguish itself from darkness."Easily enticed from the artless squalor of his past into the dazzling and treacherous table politics ofTheRuins, our hero soon finds himself at escalating odds with the diabolical proprietor, Jones, "an extravagant if charismatic crackpot." Tom's ill-fated efforts to reformThe Ruinsfinally and improbably rewarded at the glittering Fool's Balllead him on a devastating rise and illustrious tumble to humility, humanity, and practical grace.In the tradition of Thomas Pynchon and Kurt Vonnegut, Trace Farrell delivers this highly original first novel with the arch rhetoric and insinuating charm of aseasoned carnival barker. Slyly drawing the eye to a world teeming with life, after all, no more horrid than gorgeous, The Ruinsmarks the arrival of a major new literary talent.

Specifications

Publisher New York University Press
Mfg Part# 9780814726853
SKU 30284017
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 0814726852
Release Date 8/13/2012
Physical
Dimensions (in Inches) 7.5H x 4.75L x 1T
From the Publisher
Annotation Tom, a naive young man with a passion for order, gets a job in a restaurant called The Ruins, chaotically run by a seemingly demented man named Jones. Tom's efforts to reform the place provide the plot for this humorous satire.
Editors Note Set among the spinning cogs and wheels of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical Elect", The Ruins is a black-eyed, Machiavellian fairy tale. Like all fairy tales, it turns on subjection -- the increasingly comic and catastrophic subjection of "ou hero, Tom", a high-minded and half-starved shoeshine boy. Tom shifts for himself in a dank and vaguely apocalyptic city where "the days come and go in a flat, lurid tide, noon and midnight like sullen twins, so indifferently does light distinguish itself from darkness". Easily enticed from the artless squalor of his past into the dazzling and treacherous table politics of The Ruins, our hero soon finds himself at escalating odds with the diabolical proprietor, Jones, "an extravagant if charismatic crackpot". Tom's ill-fated efforts to reform The Ruins -- finally and improbably rewarded at the glittering Fool's Ball -- lead him on a devastating rise and illustrious tumble to humility, humanity, and practical grace. Trace Farrell delivers this highly original first novel with the arch rhetoric and insinuating charm of a seasoned carnival barker.
Editors Note 2 When a high-minded and formerly half-starved shoeshine boy rises to greatness in the dazzling and treacherous world of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical elect" he finds himself unprepared for the collapse of the grand and glittering world he helped create
Product Attributes
Book Format Hardcover
Number of Pages 0267
Publisher New York University Press
loading
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal! This product is currently not available.
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back Sitewide with Promo Code REWARDME at Checkout - Ends 8/31/15 *See page for details
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT