Ships from/sold by Buy.com
advertisement

The Ruins (Hardcover)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The Ruins Farrell, Trace|Vinton, John 1 of 1
$33.71 + $3.10 SHIPPING
EARN 34 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
 

Learn more about The Ruins:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0814726852
ISBN-13: 9780814726853
Sku: 30284017
Publish Date: 8/13/2012
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 7.5H x 4.75L x 1T
Pages:  267
See more in Fantasy / General
 
This magical novel is rich in plot and characters as well as a skillful use of language that is nothing less than musical.--Library Journal"Demonstrating a vein of perversity all her own, Farrell makes a strong bid to join the company of elite postmodern comic writers like Coover and Pynchon. Her exciting, funny debut features a naive shoeshine boy who suddenly finds himself working at an infernal upscale restaurant calledThe Ruins."--Publishers WeeklySet among the spinning cogs and wheels of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical Elect,"The Ruinsis a black-eyed, Machiavellian fairy tale for adults, a gleeful cautionary discourse on ambition and ingratitude, and the penalties for disbelief in those forces within oneself.Like all fairy tales, it turns on subjectionthe increasingly comic and catastrophic subjection of "our hero, Tom," a high-minded and half-starved shoeshine boy. Tom shifts for himself in a dank and vaguely apocalyptic city where "the days come and go in a flat, lurid tide, noon and midnight like sullen twins, so indifferently does light distinguish itself from darkness."Easily enticed from the artless squalor of his past into the dazzling and treacherous table politics ofTheRuins, our hero soon finds himself at escalating odds with the diabolical proprietor, Jones, "an extravagant if charismatic crackpot." Tom's ill-fated efforts to reformThe Ruinsfinally and improbably rewarded at the glittering Fool's Balllead him on a devastating rise and illustrious tumble to humility, humanity, and practical grace.In the tradition of Thomas Pynchon and Kurt Vonnegut, Trace Farrell delivers this highly original first novel with the arch rhetoric and insinuating charm of aseasoned carnival barker. Slyly drawing the eye to a world teeming with life, after all, no more horrid than gorgeous, The Ruinsmarks the arrival of a major new literary talent.
From the Publisher:
Set among the spinning cogs and wheels of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical Elect", The Ruins is a black-eyed, Machiavellian fairy tale. Like all fairy tales, it turns on subjection -- the increasingly comic and catastrophic subjection of "ou hero, Tom", a high-minded and half-starved shoeshine boy. Tom shifts for himself in a dank and vaguely apocalyptic city where "the days come and go in a flat, lurid tide, noon and midnight like sullen twins, so indifferently does light distinguish itself from darkness". Easily enticed from the artless squalor of his past into the dazzling and treacherous table politics of The Ruins, our hero soon finds himself at escalating odds with the diabolical proprietor, Jones, "an extravagant if charismatic crackpot". Tom's ill-fated efforts to reform The Ruins -- finally and improbably rewarded at the glittering Fool's Ball -- lead him on a devastating rise and illustrious tumble to humility, humanity, and practical grace. Trace Farrell delivers this highly original first novel with the arch rhetoric and insinuating charm of a seasoned carnival barker.When a high-minded and formerly half-starved shoeshine boy rises to greatness in the dazzling and treacherous world of a lavish dinner club for the "gastronomical elect" he finds himself unprepared for the collapse of the grand and glittering world he helped create
Annotation:
Tom, a naive young man with a passion for order, gets a job in a restaurant called The Ruins, chaotically run by a seemingly demented man named Jones. Tom's efforts to reform the place provide the plot for this humorous satire.

Product Attributes

Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0267
Product attributePublisher:   New York University Press
Advertisement Bottom