The White Mountains (Hardcover)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Specifications

Publisher Simon & Schuster
Mfg Part# 9781481414784
SKU 256973666
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 148141478X
Release Date 5/13/2014
From the Publisher
Annotation It happened so long ago that almost no one can remember what life on earth was like before the Tripods arrived. The Tripods--huge, three-legged machines--seemingly came from nowhere, took over the earth, and enslaved all adult humans. Now, as children begin to enter adulthood, they take part in a Capping Ceremony, a mysterious event during which anyone who is of age is taken away by the Tripods and Capped--meaning that when they return they have a metal plate attached to the top of their skulls. Anyone who undergoes the ceremony is left docile and subservient--a perfect vessel to do the work of the Tripods. However, there are a few who attempt to escape this fate and dream of life in the White Mountains--the one place on earth said to be inaccessible to the Tripods. As he nears the year of his own Capping, a boy named Will learns about life in the White Mountains and decides to make the perilous journey towards them--and freedom. This is the first book in the Tripods Trilogy, which continues with THE CITY OF GOLD AND LEAD and concludes with THE POOL OF FIRE.
First Line Apart from the one in the church tower, there were five clocks in the village that kept reasonable time, and my father owned one of them.
Editors Note Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey?s The 5th Wave.Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods?huge three-legged machines?that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.| |But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he?s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him?and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
BookCloseouts $3.74 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New, unread, publisher over-stock copies. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee! Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Buy.com
$11.31 + $2.90 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 1 business day
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $14.93 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
VNHM SHOP $17.35 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $25.57 + $1.20 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$3.74 + $3.99 shipping
$17.99 You save $14.25 (79%)
Earn 4 ($0.04) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Hardcover
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  BookCloseouts
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back Sitewide with Promo Code REWARDME at Checkout - Ends 8/31/15 *See page for details
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT