Ships from/sold by Buy.com
See All Buying Options
advertisement

The White Mountains (Hardcover)

Earn Super Points: Write a Review
37%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
The White Mountains Christopher, John 1 of 1
$17.99
(Save 37%)
$11.31 + $2.90 SHIPPING
EARN 12 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships within 24 hours
1 New
from
$11.31
See all sellers
45 day return policy
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
 

Learn more about The White Mountains:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 148141478X
ISBN-13: 9781481414784
Sku: 256973666
Publish Date: 5/13/2014
See more in Science Fiction
 
Apart from the one in the church tower, there were five clocks in the village that kept reasonable time, and my father owned one of them. (from the first line)
From the Publisher:
Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey?s The 5th Wave.

Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods?huge three-legged machines?that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.| |But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he?s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him?and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.
Annotation:
It happened so long ago that almost no one can remember what life on earth was like before the Tripods arrived. The Tripods--huge, three-legged machines--seemingly came from nowhere, took over the earth, and enslaved all adult humans. Now, as children begin to enter adulthood, they take part in a Capping Ceremony, a mysterious event during which anyone who is of age is taken away by the Tripods and Capped--meaning that when they return they have a metal plate attached to the top of their skulls. Anyone who undergoes the ceremony is left docile and subservient--a perfect vessel to do the work of the Tripods. However, there are a few who attempt to escape this fate and dream of life in the White Mountains--the one place on earth said to be inaccessible to the Tripods. As he nears the year of his own Capping, a boy named Will learns about life in the White Mountains and decides to make the perilous journey towards them--and freedom. This is the first book in the Tripods Trilogy, which continues with THE CITY OF GOLD AND LEAD and concludes with THE POOL OF FIRE.
Advertisement Bottom