The Zero (Paperback)

Author: Walter, Jess

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

In the tradition of Franz Kafka, Joseph Heller, and Don DeLillo, comes this extraordinary story of searing humor and sublime horror, of blindness, bewilderment, and that achingly familiar feeling that the world has suddenly stopped making sense.


Publisher Harpercollins
Mfg Part# 9780061189432
SKU 204173736
Format Paperback
ISBN10 006118943X
Release Date 8/7/2007
Author Info
Jess Walter
Jess Walter has written for the "Spokane Review". His work has won dozens of regional and national awards, and his coverage of the Randy Weaver story helped earn his paper a place as a Pulitzer Prize finalist.
"[Jess] Walter's Helleresque take on a traumatic time may be too much too soon for some, but he carries off his dark and hilarious narrative with a grandly grotesque imagination."
"This is political satire at its best: scathing, funny, dark. And the actual mystery rivets."
"THE ZERO breathes life into the author's idea of post-9/11 life as a fever dream for its characters."
From the Publisher
Annotation A week after 9/11, Brian Remy, a New York City cop, shoots himself in the head, yet somehow survives. After he recovers, he gets a job analyzing bits of debris for the Office of Liberty and Recovery, where he stumbles across a nefarious government plot. This may not sound like comedic material, but in Jess Walter's acerbic and biting novel the most serious events become fodder for satire, and his riotous writing takes on many of the ludicrous and sinister aspects of the post-9/11 world.
Editors Note The Zero is a groundbreaking novel, a darkly comic snapshot of our times that is already being compared to the works of Franz Kafka and Joseph Heller. From its opening pages—when hero cop Brian Remy wakes up to find he's shot himself in the head—novelist Jess Walter takes us on a harrowing tour of a city and a country shuddering through the aftershocks of a devastating terrorist attack. As the smoke slowly clears, Remy finds that his memory is skipping, lurching between moments of lucidity and days when he doesn't seem to be living his own life at all. The landscape around him is at once fractured and oddly familiar: a world dominated by a Machiavellian mayor known as "The Boss," and peopled by gawking celebrities, anguished policemen peddling First Responder cereal, and pink real estate divas hyping the spoils of tragedy. Remy himself has a new girlfriend he doesn't know, a son who pretends he's dead, and an unsettling new job chasing a trail of paper scraps for a shadowy intelligence agency known as the Department of Documentation. Whether that trail will lead Remy to an elusive terror cell—or send him circling back to himself—is only one of the questions posed by this provocative yet deeply human novel. From a novelist of astounding talent, The Zero is an extraordinary story of how our trials become our transgressions, of how we forgive ourselves and whether or not we should.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0326
Publisher Harper Perennial

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
Books2AnywhereUS $13.00 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
VNHM SHOP $15.83 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Ria Christie Collections $15.59 + $2.98 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Athena Express $20.40 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $41.75 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
$13.00 + free shipping
$14.99 You save $1.99 (13%)
Earn 13 ($0.13) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Paperback
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  Books2AnywhereUS
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
Promotions & Offers (1)
  • coupon
    Get $25 off $100 site wide when you pay using Visa Checkout and promo code VisaCM. Limited Time offer. Terms apply Use promo code VISACM at checkout. Ends 11/30/2015.
Buy From Other Sellers (5)
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders


We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.


You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo