Ships from/sold by BookCloseouts
Seller Rating:
advertisement

Tolstoy And The Purple Chair My Year of Magical Reading (Hardcover)

Author:  Nina Sankovitch
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
75%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Tolstoy And The Purple Chair Sankovitch, Nina 1 of 1
$23.99
(Save 75%)
$5.99 + $3.99 SHIPPING
EARN 6 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
View My Store
Share
promo
 
Description
Seller Information
 

Learn more about Tolstoy And The Purple Chair:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0061999849
ISBN-13: 9780061999840
Sku: 217574698
Publish Date: 6/1/2011
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.5H x 5.75L x 1T
Pages:  240
See more in Personal Memoirs
 
Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, Sankovitch spends a year savoring great books from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron, ultimately changing her outlook on life.
From the Publisher:
Torn apart by grief after losing her sister, the author, a 46-year-old mother of four, turned to literature for comfort, devoting herself to reading one book a day for a year, which brought much needed joy, healing and wisdom into her life. 30,000 first printing.

“Nina Sankovitch has crafted a dazzling memoir that reminds us of the most primal function of literature-to heal, to nurture and to connect us to our truest selves." —Thrity Umrigar, author of The Space Between Us

Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, a mother of four spends one year savoring a great book every day, from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron and beyond. In the tradition of Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project and Joan Dideon’s A Year of Magical Thinking, Nina Sankovitch’s soul-baring and literary-minded memoir is a chronicle of loss, hope, and redemption. Nina ultimately turns to reading as therapy and through her journey illuminates the power of books to help us reclaim our lives.

Annotation:
After losing her sister to cancer, a woman confines herself to a velvet chair and determines to read a book a day. Nina Sankovitch's process of dealing with grief binds the two loves of her life--literature and family--into a dual narrative of the joys of storytelling and how the war-torn Sankovitch brood fled fighting in the Eastern Front of World War II. As the calendar spins by, Nina Sankovitch learns again how to embrace her household life and TOLSTOY AND THE PURPLE CHAIR resuscitates her connection with children, husband, pets, and even laundry.

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0240
Product attributePublisher:   Harper
Advertisement Bottom