Tolstoy And The Purple Chair : My Year of Magical Reading (Hardcover)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, Sankovitch spends a year savoring great books from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron, ultimately changing her outlook on life.


Publisher Harpercollins
Mfg Part# 9780061999840
SKU 217574698
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 0061999849
Release Date 6/1/2011
Dimensions (in Inches) 8.5H x 5.75L x 1T
From the Publisher
Editors Note Torn apart by grief after losing her sister, the author, a 46-year-old mother of four, turned to literature for comfort, devoting herself to reading one book a day for a year, which brought much needed joy, healing and wisdom into her life. 30,000 first printing.
Editors Note 1 “Nina Sankovitch has crafted a dazzling memoir that reminds us of the most primal function of literature-to heal, to nurture and to connect us to our truest selves." —Thrity Umrigar, author of The Space Between Us Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, a mother of four spends one year savoring a great book every day, from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron and beyond. In the tradition of Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project and Joan Dideon’s A Year of Magical Thinking, Nina Sankovitch’s soul-baring and literary-minded memoir is a chronicle of loss, hope, and redemption. Nina ultimately turns to reading as therapy and through her journey illuminates the power of books to help us reclaim our lives.
Annotation After losing her sister to cancer, a woman confines herself to a velvet chair and determines to read a book a day. Nina Sankovitch's process of dealing with grief binds the two loves of her life--literature and family--into a dual narrative of the joys of storytelling and how the war-torn Sankovitch brood fled fighting in the Eastern Front of World War II. As the calendar spins by, Nina Sankovitch learns again how to embrace her household life and TOLSTOY AND THE PURPLE CHAIR resuscitates her connection with children, husband, pets, and even laundry.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Hardcover
Number of Pages 0240
Publisher Harper
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal! This product is currently not available.
Buy From Other Sellers (0)
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders


We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.


You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo