Transition Sonic CD (2004)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Allegro Corporation
SKU 63898048
UPC 099402398921
UPC 14 00099402398921
Format CD
Release Date 9/7/2004
Author Matthias Lupri Group
Technical Info
Engineer Mike Brorby
Producer Matthias Lupri
CatalogID 398
Lable Name Summit Records
Released 09/07/2004
Original Release 2004
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00099402398921
Album Notes and Credits
Matthias Lupri: Matthias Lupri (vibraphone, electronics); Nate Radley (guitar, electronics); Mark Turner (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Cuong Vu (trumpet, electronics); Thomson Kneeland (double bass, electronics); Jordan Perlson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Neil Tesser.
Vibraphonist Matthias Lupri performs a dozen pieces on Transition Sonic that hold together well as a suite, with some of the same melodic and rhythmic ideas popping up on several selections. His sextet has its own identity, the solos are concise and meaningful, and the ensembles of the group have an appealing and distinctive sound. Lupri, who is influenced by Gary Burton, sometimes utilizes electronics in spots (which gives some of the music an atmospheric and eerie feel) although this is essentially a modern post-bop set with touches of fusion. Mark Turner on tenor and soprano, trumpeter Cuong Vu and guitarist Nate Radley have their moments in the spotlight, while bassist Thomson Kneeland and drummer Jordan Perlson keep the music from ever coasting or being overly predictable. This set grows in interest with each listen. ~ Scott Yanow
Disc 1
1 Sonic Prelude
2 Sonic
3 Middle Zone
4 Day After, The
5 Deception
6 Iceland
7 Dark Prelude
8 Chime Trance
9 Double Trouble
10 Prairie
11 Earlier Years
12 Sonic Reprise
Product Attributes
Artist Matthias Lupri Group
Label Allegro Corporation
Music Format Compact Disc
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal! This product is currently not available.