Twenty Five (Bonus Dvd) CD (2006)

Artist: Yellowjackets

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Recorded in France and Italy, Twenty Five splits modern day jazz right down the middle, especially in the area where contemporary styles of the 1970s ebb and flow into modern day smooth jazz stylized instrumentals. Although founding members Robben Ford and William Kennedy left the original group some years agp, Yellowjacket members in keyboardist Russell Ferrante and bassist Jimmy Haslip have done a superb job of keeping their vision together. As one examines the history of the group, their style of music falls somewhere between mainstream jazz, R&B and pop initiatives. On top of all that, the Yellowjackets are the last of an uncompromising breed. They practice the art of improvised fusion oriented post bop funk, where each member of the band has an individual part to add to the collective. By all accounts, the Yellowjackets’ music contains a multi-faceted matrix of augmented notes that are capped by distinct rhythmic patterns and melodic inferences that are harmonically sensitive. Another consideration that makes Twenty Five a masterful work of art is the companion DVD, which adds a visual testimony to the Yellowjackets’ indelible career. Collectively, the CD combined with the DVD provides listeners with an overview that has stood the test of time for more than twenty five years.


Label Fontana
SKU 202525743
UPC 053361311223
UPC 14 00053361311223
Format CD
Release Date 5/23/2006
Author Yellowjackets
Artist Bio
Over four decades, the Yellowjackets have achieved a formidable reputation for their live performances and critical and commercial success with their recordings of electric pop jazz. The members of the band are accomplished musicians in their own right and perhaps this accounts for the Yellowjackets' two Grammys and six nominations. The formative line-up was assembled in 1977 by Robben Ford (b. Robben Lee Ford, 16 December 1951, Woodlake, California, USA; guitar) to help record his The Inside Story. Joining Ford in the embryonic Yellowjackets were Russell Ferrante (keyboards), Ricky Lawson (drums) and Jimmy Haslip (b. James Robert Haslip, 31 December 1951, New York City, New York, USA; bass).The Yellowjackets self-titled 1981 debut featured Ferrante, Haslip, Lawson and Ford, with musical assistance from Bobby Lyle (piano) and Lenny Castro (percussion) among others. By the time of 1983's Mirage À Trois, Ford's presence was declining. Saxophonist Marc Russo featured prominently on Samurai Samba (1985) and Shades in 1986 rewarded the band's steady touring with a Grammy and six-figure sales. Drummer William Kennedy was the next addition to the line-up and this prompted the band to explore some new territory on Four Corners. The relaxed Politics (1988) was another Grammy winner and hinted at the Yellowjackets' future direction. Their next project, The Spin was recorded in Oslo, Norway with well-known engineer, Jan Erik Kongshaug, and was a more acoustic, resolutely jazz album. The Yellowjackets' debut for GRP Records, Greenhouse, featured saxophonist Bob Mintzer replacing Russo who had departed to work with Kenny Loggins. Live Wires, their 1992 release, successfully demonstrated the multifaceted approach the Yellowjackets like to adopt. Indeed, the simplicity of the band's sound belies the diversity of their influences: "We spend hours experimenting, studying and listening to music from all over the world. You can't be afraid to take chances. That's what it takes to continue to grow!'. The Ferrante/Haslip/Kennedy/ Mintzer line-up continued with GRP throughout the decade, releasing a series of well-received and musically adventurous albums. Club Nocturne was something of a departure from their traditional sound, featuring vocal contributions from Kurt Elling, Brenda Russell and Jonathan Butler. Kennedy departed in 1999 to become more involved in gospel music. He was briefly replaced by Peter Erskine. Ferrante, Haslip and Mintzer were joined by new drummer Marcus Baylor on 2001"s Mint Jam.
Product Attributes
Artist Yellowjackets
Label Heads Up Records
Music Format Compact Disc
$22.31 + free shipping
Rakuten Super Points Earn 23 ($0.23) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Get this item for
(price with shipping)
(redeem points)
Format: CD
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  amitcj
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details