Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You (Hardcover)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

"New York Times"-bestselling author Oates masterfully captures the unique experience of being a teenage girl in this provocative and poignant new novel in the vein of "Wintergirls" and "Thirteen Reasons Why."

Specifications

Publisher Harpercollins Childrens Books
Mfg Part# 9780062110473
SKU 228786713
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 0062110470
Release Date 8/21/2012
Physical
Dimensions (in Inches) 8.5H x 5.75L x 1T
Author Info
Joyce Carol Oates
The daughter of a tool-and-die designer from upstate New York, Oates was given a typewriter at 14 and never looked back. A famously prolific writer, she typically publishes several novels, short stories, poems and critical articles every year while also maintaining an active teaching career. She attributes her prolific career to regular hours and a love of what she does. Oates's successes began early: she was valedictorian of her class at Syracuse University and then went on to earn an M.A. in English literature at the University of Wisconsin where, in 1961, she met Raymond J. Smith; they were married three months later. She and Smith taught at various colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada, including Princeton. Together, they ran the Ontario Review Press, which they founded in 1974. Oates was devastated in 2008 when Smith died due to complications of pneumonia, and claimed that her only solace came from intensive literary study and criticism. Oates writes in a variety of fiction genres, including a series of suspense novels written under the name Rosamond Smith, as well as some young adult works. She is best known for writing about human evil or people in bizarre and often violent situations, and many of her books reflect her working-class Upstate New York background.
Praise
"Intense, keenly insightful, nuanced and affecting." (starred review)
"The examination of teenage isolation, humiliation, and quiet suffering make this a painful, but excellent novel filled with haunting details." (starred review)
From the Publisher
Editors Note "When their best friend, Tink, dies from an apparent suicide, high school seniors Merissa and Nadia are alientated by their secrets, adrift from each other and from themselves"--Provided by publisher.
Annotation Suicide, anorexia, cutting, overachieving, cyberbullying, and divorce are just a few of the hot topics Joyce Carol Oates explores through the eyes of a group of privileged New Jersey girls. Told from a variety of viewpoints, a group of friends at Quaker Heights Day School are keeping terrible secrets from one another. Merissa appears to be perfect, with an early acceptance to Brown and a lead in the school play. But inside she's a mess, and cutting is her private form of relief. Her best friend, Nadia, longs to be the perfect 98-pounds, and finds herself in trouble after fooling around with the wrong boy. In the middle is Tink, a fun and funky girl who was in their lives briefly before her suicide left a gapping hole in the girls' hearts.
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Hardcover
Minimum Age 14
Number of Pages 0277
Publisher Harper Teen

More Buying Options

Seller Infomation Price & Shipping  
BookCloseouts $4.99 + $3.99 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New, unread, publisher over-stock copies. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee! Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Buy.com
$11.31 + $3.35 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock, 45 Day Returns

Usually Ships within 1 business day
Add to Cart
Books2AnywhereUS $14.94 + free shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock
New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000.
Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
Synergy Data Inc $25.57 + $1.55 shipping
Condition: Brand New
In Stock

Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days
Add to Cart
loading
$4.99 + $3.99 shipping
$17.99 You save $13.00 (72%)
Earn 5 ($0.05) Rakuten Super Points™
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
Format: Hardcover
Condition: Brand New
In Stock. Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
Please select an option to buy
Add to Cart

Sold By:  BookCloseouts
What is a Marketplace and Shop Owner?
  • Our marketplace is a platform where approved third-party retailers (Shop Owners) can sell their products
  • Items are sold and shipped by Shop Owners
  • Your credit card and personal information remain secure; Rakuten.com meets all PCI Security Standards.
  • Purchases can only be returned to the Shop Owner
  • All purchases receive Rakuten Super Points™
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back Sitewide with Promo Code REWARDME at Checkout - Ends 8/31/15 *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (4)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT