Ships from/sold by BookCloseouts
Seller Rating:
See All Buying Options
advertisement
Earn Super Points: Write a Review
72%
OFF
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You Oates, Joyce Carol 1 of 1
$17.99
(Save 72%)
$4.99 + $3.99 SHIPPING
EARN 5 RAKUTEN SUPER POINTS™ Super Points
What are Rakuten Super Points™?
Get rewarded when you shop! Earn 1 point per dollar spent. That's like getting cash back on every purchase. Easy to see matured points in checkout. Use points just like cash.
Learn More
FORMAT: Hardcover
CONDITION:  Brand New
IN STOCK: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 business days
4 New and Used
from
$4.99
See all sellers
View My Store
Share
 
Description
More Buying Options
Seller Information
 

Learn more about Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You:

Format: Hardcover
ISBN-10: 0062110470
ISBN-13: 9780062110473
Sku: 228786713
Publish Date: 8/21/2012
Dimensions:  (in Inches) 8.5H x 5.75L x 1T
Pages:  277
Age Range:  18 to UP
 
"New York Times"-bestselling author Oates masterfully captures the unique experience of being a teenage girl in this provocative and poignant new novel in the vein of "Wintergirls" and "Thirteen Reasons Why."
From the Publisher:
"When their best friend, Tink, dies from an apparent suicide, high school seniors Merissa and Nadia are alientated by their secrets, adrift from each other and from themselves"--Provided by publisher.
Annotation:
Suicide, anorexia, cutting, overachieving, cyberbullying, and divorce are just a few of the hot topics Joyce Carol Oates explores through the eyes of a group of privileged New Jersey girls. Told from a variety of viewpoints, a group of friends at Quaker Heights Day School are keeping terrible secrets from one another. Merissa appears to be perfect, with an early acceptance to Brown and a lead in the school play. But inside she's a mess, and cutting is her private form of relief. Her best friend, Nadia, longs to be the perfect 98-pounds, and finds herself in trouble after fooling around with the wrong boy. In the middle is Tink, a fun and funky girl who was in their lives briefly before her suicide left a gapping hole in the girls' hearts.
Author Bio
Joyce Carol Oates
The daughter of a tool-and-die designer from upstate New York, Oates was given a typewriter at 14 and never looked back. A famously prolific writer, she typically publishes several novels, short stories, poems and critical articles every year while also maintaining an active teaching career. She attributes her prolific career to regular hours and a love of what she does. Oates's successes began early: she was valedictorian of her class at Syracuse University and then went on to earn an M.A. in English literature at the University of Wisconsin where, in 1961, she met Raymond J. Smith; they were married three months later. She and Smith taught at various colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada, including Princeton. Together, they ran the Ontario Review Press, which they founded in 1974. Oates was devastated in 2008 when Smith died due to complications of pneumonia, and claimed that her only solace came from intensive literary study and criticism. Oates writes in a variety of fiction genres, including a series of suspense novels written under the name Rosamond Smith, as well as some young adult works. She is best known for writing about human evil or people in bizarre and often violent situations, and many of her books reflect her working-class Upstate New York background.

Praise

"Intense, keenly insightful, nuanced and affecting." (starred review) 07/15/2012

"The examination of teenage isolation, humiliation, and quiet suffering make this a painful, but excellent novel filled with haunting details." (starred review) 10/22/2012

Product Attributes

Product attributeeBooks:   Kobo
Product attributeBook Format:   Hardcover
Product attributeMinimum Age:   14
Product attributeNumber of Pages:   0277
Product attributePublisher:   Harper Teen
Advertisement Bottom