Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: Various
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Ultimate Motown Christmas Collection CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Ultimate Motown Christmas Collection:

Format: CD
Sku: 212211388
UPC: 602527176420
UPC 14: 00602527176420
Release Date: 10/13/2009
See more in Holiday

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - The Jackson 5 ~ Various Artists
2. What Christmas Means To Me - Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
3. Season's Greetings From Eddie Kendricks - Eddie Kendricks ~ Various Artists
4. Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
5. Season's Greetings from The Supremes - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
6. My Favorite Things - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
7. Deck the Halls/Bring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabelle - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
8. Ave Maria - Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
9. Season's Greeting from Thelma Houston - Thelma Houston ~ Various Artists
10. Joy To The World - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
11. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
12. Silver Bells - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
13. Someday At Christmas - Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
14. Season's Greetings from Jr. Walker - Junior Walker ~ Various Artists
15. Winter Wonderland - The Funk Brothers ~ Various Artists
16. Jingle Bells - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
17. Season's Greetings from the Commodores - Commodores ~ Various Artists
18. My Christmas Tree - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
19. White Christmas - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
20. Season's Greetings from The Velvelettes - The Velvelettes ~ Various Artists
21. Merry Christmas Baby - The Four Tops ~ Various Artists
22. Give Love On Christmas Day - Johnny Gill ~ Various Artists
23. Christmas In The City - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
24. Season's Greetings from the Temptations - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
25. Silent Night - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
Disc 2
Song Title
1. Season's Greetings from Smokey Robinson - Smokey Robinson ~ Various Artists
2. Christmas Song, The - The Temptations/Smokey Robinson ~ Various Artists
3. Children's Christmas Song - The Supremes ~ Various Artists
4. Season's Greetings From David Ruffin - David Ruffin ~ Various Artists
5. Little Drummer Boy, The - The Temptations ~ Various Artists
6. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus - The Jackson 5 ~ Various Artists
7. Season's Greetings from The Four Tops - The Four Tops ~ Various Artists
8. Christmas Here With You - The Four Tops - (featuring Aretha Franklin) ~ Various Artists
9. This Christmas - Diana Ross ~ Various Artists
10. Season's Greetings from Willie Hutch - Willie Hutch ~ Various Artists
11. Christmas Cheer - The Boys ~ Various Artists
12. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! - Boyz II Men - (featuring Brian McKnight) ~ Various Artists
13. Season's Greetings from the Spinners - The Spinners ~ Various Artists
14. Christmas Everyday - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
15. One Little Christmas Tree - Stevie Wonder ~ Various Artists
16. Season's Greetings from Martha & the Vandellas - Martha & the Vandellas ~ Various Artists
17. Noel - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
18. Purple Snowflakes - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
19. Season's Greetings from The Elgins - The Elgins ~ Various Artists
20. Wish You A Merry Christmas - Kim Weston ~ Various Artists
21. It's Christmas Time - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
22. Season's Greetings from Shorty Long - Shorty Long ~ Various Artists
23. Xmas Twist - Twistin' Kings ~ Various Artists
24. I Want To Come Home For Christmas - Marvin Gaye ~ Various Artists
25. Season's Greetings from Smokey Robinson & the Miracles - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists
26. Child Is Waiting, A - Smokey Robinson & the Miracles ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Adapters: Hal Davis; Harvey Fuqua; Jimmy Roach; Marc Gordon .
Muze PNote Arrangers: Willie Shorter; James Carmichael ; Gil Askey; Hal Davis; Harvey Fuqua; George Rountree, Jr.; Jimmy Roach; Lawrence Payton; Levi Stubbs; Marc Gordon ; Wade Marcus; David Van De Pitte.
Muze PNote Berry Gordy was more than just a visionary label owner, he was also an astute businessman who studied and understood how the pop charts worked, and his stable of songwriters, arrangers, musicians, and singers all worked toward the same aim of refining R&B and soul music into a pop product that appealed across race, gender, and generational lines. And Gordy knew -- although the radio play and sales period was extremely brief -- that nothing endured more than a good Christmas record, which could regenerate sales each and every year when the holiday season rolled around again. It should come as no surprise, then, that Motown issued a sizable amount of seasonal material, and as this two-disc, 51-track collection shows, a lot of it was done at a high level of quality. There are simply some wonderful Christmas sides here, including the Jackson 5's buoyant "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town," the Temptations' delightfully rendered "Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer," the Funk Brothers' surging and joyous instrumental take on "Winter Wonderland," Smokey Robinson's hopeful "Christmas Everyday," the Four Tops' lightly funky "Merry Christmas Baby," and a pair of odd but beautiful Marvin Gaye pieces, "Christmas in the City" and the achingly perfect "I Want to Come Home for Christmas." It's nice to have all of these together in one collection. Oh, and you can dance to it, too. ~ Steve Leggett

Producer: Clarence Paul; Clay McMurray; Dallas Austin; Mickey Stevenson; Zack Vaz; Gil Askey; Hal Davis; Harvey Fuqua; Henry Cosby; Jimmy Roach; Johnny Bristol; Lawrence Payton; Levi Stubbs; Marc Gordon; Marvin Gaye; Pete Moore; Terry Johnson; Barrett Strong; Berry

Musical Guests
Muze Guest Artist Aretha Franklin
Muze Guest Artist Brian McKnight

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 10/13/2009
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2009
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : Boo13383
Music Label Name Label : Motown
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 2
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : n/a
Music UPC UPC : 00602527176420

Advertisement Bottom