Sold Out
This product is currently not available.
Artist: Various Artists
Earn Rakuten Super Points™: Write a Review
Sold Out!
Sorry, this selection is currently unavailable.
Ultimate Relaxation Christmas Album CD 1 of 1

Learn more about Ultimate Relaxation Christmas Album:

Format: CD
Sku: 60572918
UPC: 028947256823
UPC 14: 00028947256823
Release Date: 10/15/2002
See more in Holiday

Song Listing

Disc 1
Song Title
1. Christmas Bells - Mantovani ~ Various Artists
2. O Holy Night - Mantovani ~ Various Artists
3. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas - Ronnie Aldrich/London Festival Orchestra ~ Various Artists
4. White Christmas - Mantovani ~ Various Artists
5. Christmas Waltz, The - Ronnie Aldrich/London Festival Orchestra ~ Various Artists
6. Winter Wonderland - Ronnie Aldrich/London Festival Orchestra ~ Various Artists
7. Mary's Boy Child - Mantovani/The Sammes Chorus & Singers ~ Various Artists
8. Christmas Song, The - Ronnie Aldrich/London Festival Orchestra ~ Various Artists
9. Adeste Fideles - Mantovani ~ Various Artists
10. Golden Carol, The (What Child Is This) - Frank Chacksfield ~ Various Artists
11. Coventry Carol - King's College Choir, Cambridge ~ Various Artists
12. Away In A Manger - Frank Chacksfield ~ Various Artists
13. In Dulci Jublio - Bach Choir ~ Various Artists
14. Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring - Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra/Karl Munchinger ~ Various Artists
15. Es Ist Ein Ros' Entsprungen - Die Regensburger Domspatzen ~ Various Artists
16. Ave Maria - Arthur Grumiaux/Istvan Hajdu ~ Various Artists
17. O Tannenbaum - Vienna Boys Choir ~ Various Artists
18. Winter (Largo from the "Four Seasons") - Alan Loveday/Sir Neville Marriner/Academy of St. Martin in the Fields ~ Various Artists
19. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing - Mantovani ~ Various Artists
20. I Saw Three Ships - Mantovani ~ Various Artists
21. Sinfonia - Academy of St. Martin in the Fields/Sir Neville Marriner (from "Christmas Oratorio") ~ Various Artists
22. Silent Night, Holy Night - Mantovani ~ Various Artists

Album Notes and Credits

Notes & Personnel Info
Muze PNote Includes liner notes by Joseph S. Szurly.
Muze PNote Personnel: Arthur Grumiaux (violin).
Muze PNote Liner Note Author: Joseph S. Szurly.
Muze PNote Directors: Georg Ratzinger; Uwe Christian Harrer; David Willcocks .
Muze PNote Though it may not intend to, with its title The Ultimate Relaxation Christmas Album addresses one of the biggest paradoxes of the holiday season: ideally, it should be one of the most joyous and relaxing times of the year, but thanks to shopping for gifts, social obligations, and heightened expectations, too often the holidays become stressful instead of pleasant. This collection of soothing instrumental and choral holiday favorites aims to restore some serenity to the season, and on at least one level, it succeeds; the gentle renditions of "O Holy Night," "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," and "The Christmas Waltz" have soft, lush arrangements that are definitely relaxing. However, the arrangements skirt dangerously close to the sappy, string-laden territory of Mantovani, 101 Strings, and countless other easy listening instrumentalists, and the cutesy harp, piano, and xylophone flourishes on many of the tracks threaten to push the album into kitsch. Of course, the Christmas albums by Mantovani, 101 Strings, and the like were hugely popular, and this album's nod to those sweetly bland holiday releases of the past could be intentional, adding to the built-in nostalgia that the season evokes. In some ways, the retro feeling of The Ultimate Relaxation Christmas Album is more refreshing -- and yes, relaxing -- than the new age-tinged holiday albums that may very likely sound nostalgic a few decades down the road. The purely choral selections are simpler and more dignified than most of the intstrumentals on the album, though a few of the orchestral tracks later in the album lose some of the more obvious easy listening tendencies. An ultra-traditional collection, The Ultimate Relaxation Christmas Album could be either stuffy or comforting, depending on your taste in holiday music and, quite possibly, how much eggnog you've had. ~ Heather Phares

Producer: Joseph S. Szurly (Compilation)

Technical Info

Music Release Date Release Date : 10/15/2002
Music Original Release Date Original Release Date : 2002
Music CatalogId Catalog ID : 472568
Music Label Name Label : Decca
Music Number of Discs Number of Discs : 1
Music Studio or Live Studio/Live : Studio
Music Mono or Stereo Mono/Stereo : Stereo
Music SPAR code SPAR Code : ADD
Music UPC UPC : 00028947256823

Advertisement Bottom