War Stories CD (2007)

Artist: Unkle

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview


Label Surrender Records
SKU 204855889
UPC 800314898627
UPC 14 00800314898627
Format CD
Release Date 7/24/2007
Author Unkle
Technical Info
Engineer Autolux; Pablo Clements; Neil Davidge; Robert Del Naja; Richard File; Edmund Monsef
Producer Unkle; Chris Goss
CatalogID SURR-005CDXX
Lable Name Unkle
Released 07/24/2007
Original Release 2007
Number of Discs 1
SPARE Code n/a
Mono/Stereo Stereo
Studio/Live Studio
UPC 00800314898627
Album Notes and Credits
UNKLE: Richard File (vocals, guitar, guitars, acoustic guitar, strings, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, synthesizer, bass synthesizer, glockenspiel, bass guitar, percussion, programming, sequencer, Theremin, background vocals); James Lavelle (vocals, organ, synthesizer, bells, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Chris Goss (vocals, guitar, guitars, organ, synthesizer, bass synthesizer, bass guitar, background vocals); Josh Homme (vocals, guitar, guitars, bass guitar, drums); Greg Edwards (vocals, guitar); Ian Astbury (vocals, guitars, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, shaker); Liela Moss, Dan Higgins (vocals, harmonium); Eugene Goreshter (vocals, keyboards, bass instrument, bass guitar); Carla Azar (vocals, glockenspiel, drums); Neil Davidge, Robert "3D" del Naja (vocals, drum machine, programming, sampler); Alex Grazioli, Gavin Clark (vocals); Dave Catching (guitar, guitars, piano, synthesizer, drums); Toby Butler (guitar, bass guitar); Luke Ford, Ali Love, Matthew Caws (guitars); Philip Shepherd (cello, electric cello); Lucy Wilkins, Alison Dods, Chris Worsey, Calina de la Mare (strings); Jeordie White (synthesizer, bass guitar); Pablo Clements (synthesizer, programming, background vocals); Aidan Lavelle (synthesizer, background vocals); James Book (bass guitar, programming); Brian O'Connor (bass guitar); Oliver Betts, Brett Shaw, Dave Henderson (drums); Chris Allen (programming); 3D, Autolux, The Duke Spirit.
James Lavelle's UNKLE project has offered virtually everything to its fans and the listening public -- virtually everything, except for great music. UNKLE full-lengths seem primed to make a major impact on music and culture. They're packed with high concept, dense with thematic elements ripped from the headlines (especially the war in Iraq), and this time out, include an artwork-packed booklet (featuring Massive Attack's Robert del Naja, Ben Drury, and Will Bankhead). The fact that the music has never fulfilled its expectations, despite the undeniable talents of everyone involved, points to a too-many-cooks problem. War Stories finds the group, a core duo of Lavelle and Richard File, enlisting major production help from Chris Goss. Goss' work with Masters of Reality and Kyuss made the California/Arizona desert a haven for progressive metal, and its influence is all over this record. Fellow desert rat Josh Homme reprises his role from the last UNKLE full length, along with del Naja (as 3D), indie rockers Autolux, English neo-garage band the Duke Spirit, and finally, Ian Astbury (like Lavelle, another Englishman apparently fascinated with the American Southwest). Astbury's vocals on "Burn My Shadow" and "When Things Explode" make for a pair of highlights; they're one of the few points on War Stories when a hint of personality threatens to overwhelm the many tenebrous guitars and gloomy, plaintive vocals. Newcomer Gavin Clark also shines as a stand-in for Jeff Buckley, but amid the many features and incredible dynamism that mark every UNKLE full-length, there are no songs to grab onto and little of real essence. [Some editions also included a bonus disc with instrumentals.] ~ John Bush
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.117) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Ditching electronics for stoner metal, WAR STORIES is James Lavelle's desert rock fantasy fulfilled."
Alternative Press (p.183) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] strangely psychedelic, raucous rock concoction....Less about singles than a grander scheme."
Disc 1
1 Tired of Sleeping
2 Chemistry
3 Hold My Hand
4 Restless
5 Keys to the Kingdom
6 Price You Pay
7 Burn My Shadow
8 Mayday
9 Persons & Machinery
10 Twilight
11 Morning Rage
12 Lawless
13 Broken
14 When Things Explode
Product Attributes
Artist Unkle
Label Surrender Records
Music Format Compact Disc
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.