shop by

20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection (Eco-Friendly Packaging) CD (2007)

Artist: Asia

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection is the most successful greatest hits series in Canada. Since its launch in 1999, the series has sold over 7 million albums and has grown to include over 400 titles. The albums in the 20th Century Masters series feature both single artist and multi-artist compilations and cover genres from jazz to rock, from gospel to soul and much more.

These packages are perfect for first-time listeners who want to experience a new artist or sound at a great low price. With all the different types of music and artists represented throughout the line, we know you will find something that you will absolutely have to own!

Track Listing
1. Heat of the Moment
2. Only Time Will Tell
3. Sole Survivor
4. Don't Cry
5. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
6. The Heat Goes On
7. Open Your Eyes
8. Daylight
9. Go
10. Voice of America
11. Too Late
12. Days Like These


Label Universal Music Group
SKU 204216252
UPC 602517233690
UPC 14 00602517233690
Format CD
Release Date 4/3/2007
Author Asia
Drums Carl Palmer
Keyboards Geoff Downes
Vocals, Bass John Wetton
Guitar Steve Howe
Artist Bio
AsiaAsia's debut album exploded onto the music scene in March 1982 with several Top 10 singles and sales exceeding 7 million copies. This "supergroup", featuring bassist/vocalist John Wetton, drummer Carl Palmer, keyboardist Geoff Downes, and guitarist Steve Howe, was the logical successor to their collective bands of the 70s - Yes, ELP, King Crimson, and The Buggles.The group came together in the spring of 1981. John Wetton's acclaimed progressive rock band UK had collapsed a few years earlier. With the help of manager Brian Lane, he wanted to form a new group with guitarist Steve Howe, best known for his work with British Prog superstars, Yes. Drummer Carl Palmer came into the fold next, having just completed a decade of platinum releases and sold out tours with Emerson, Lake & Palmer. Keyboardist Geoff Downes, who replaced Rick Wakeman in Yes for the Drama album, had previously been half of the pop duo The Buggles. They stormed the charts in 1979 with the timeless classic "Video Killed The Radio Star".Labelled a "supergroup" by critics and the media from the onset, it was a tag they had never asked for. Asia's music (and rock 'n' roll charisma) developed organically and effortlessly. Though all four men had seen chart-topping success in their previous bands, Asia had a special chemistry that fans and music industry insiders were quick to recognize.The first Asia album went into production in June of 1981 with producer Mike Stone at Marcus Studios and Virgin Townhouse in London. Stone, who had worked on hits for Journey and Queen, also knew the band had an amazing musical ability. The band spent five months writing, arranging, and recording nine songs for its debut that included such classics as "Heat of the Moment", "Only Time Will Tell", and "Sole Survivor."As soon as the album was completed, Geffen knew it had a winner on its hands. The upstart label immediately began turning the wheels of its enormous promotional machine weeks before the LP's release, to help propel the album to the top of the charts. Asia had only weeks to rehearse for a 30 city US tour that commenced on April 22 in Potsdam, NY, of all places! By the time the band reached the 12th stop on tour (Rochester, NY) on May 5th, the debut album had already hit #1 on the Billboard charts.
Product Attributes
Artist Asia
Label Universal Music Group
Music Format Compact Disc
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details