shop by

An Apology for Crudity and Other Stories (Dodo Press) (Paperback)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Sherwood Anderson (1876-1941) was an American writer, mainly of short stories. He worked as a manual laborer until near the turn of the century, when he enlisted in the United States Army. He was called but did not see action in Cuba during the Spanish- American War. After the war, in 1900, he enrolled at Wittenberg University. Eventually he secured a job as a copywriter in Chicago and became more successful. His first novel, Windy McPherson''s Son was published in 1916. Three years later, his second major work, Marching Men, was published. However, he is most famous for his collection of interrelated short stories, which he began writing in 1919, known as Winesburg, Ohio. Although his short stories, especially those mentioned, were very successful, Anderson felt the need to write novels. In 1920, he published Poor White. Amongst his other works are Mid-American Chants (1918), The Triumph of the Egg, and Other Stories (1921), Many Marriages (1923) and A Story Teller''s Story (1924).


Publisher Dodo Press
Mfg Part# 9781409915768
SKU 209053722
Format Paperback
ISBN10 140991576X
Release Date 8/25/2008
Product Attributes
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0048
Publisher Dodo Press
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details