shop by

Def Jam Recordings: 25th Anniversary Box Set CD (2009)

Artist: Various

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

In Billboard magazine in November of 1984, a little story three-paragraphs long announced the creation of a new record label called Def Jam. "The purpose of this company," said a young artist manager named Russell Simmons, "is to educate people to the real value of real street music by putting out records nobody in the business would distribute but us."

Twenty-five years later, the real value of real street music" can be measured not just in billions of dollars, but in the changed complexion of all of the following expressions of creative endeavor: music, movies, television, language, dance, fine art, graphic art, fashion, advertising, automobiles, jewelry, video games, and politics...and not just in America, but globally. If any one entity can be said to have sparked these changes - and to have continued to stand for street music and the culture that birthed it, namely, hip-hop -- it is Def Jam Recordings.

The Def Jam 25th Anniversary set is a collection hits from the labels chart topping stars and cultural icons. Includes Jay-Z, Kanye West, Ludacris, Beastie Boys, LL Cool J, Public Enemy, DMX, Young Jeezy, Method Man, Redman and more!

Disc-1 Track Listing
1. I Need A Beat - LL Cool J
2. It's The Beat - Hollis Crew
3. Bring the Noise - Public Enemy
4. Paul Revere - Beastie Boys
5. The Rain - Oran "Juice" Jones
6. Goin' Back To Cali - LL Cool J
7. Brass Monkey - Beastie Boys
8. It's Yours - T La Rock Feat. Jazzy Jay
9. I Need Love - LL Cool J
10. Children's Story - Slick Rick
11. The Gas Face (Remix) - 3rd Bass
12. Fight The Power - Public Enemy

Disc-2 Track Listing
1. Mama Said Knock You Out - LL Cool J
2. Gold Digger - EPMD
3. Pop Goes The Weasel - 3rd Bass
4. Daddy's Little Girl - Nikki D
5. Room To Breathe - Downtown Science
6. Time 4 Sum Aksion - Redman
7. Slam - Onyx
8. Deeper - Boss Feat. Papa Juggy
9. Crossover - EPMD
10. Bring The Pain - Method Man
11. Hip Hop Junkies - Nice & Smooth
12. Regulate - Warren G featuring Nate Dogg

Disc-3 Track Listing
1. This Is How We Do It - Montell Jordan
2. Stand Up - Ludacris Feat. Shawnna
3. Holla Holla - Ja Rule
4. Touch Me Tease Me - Case Feat. Foxy Brown
5. I'll Be There For You/You're All I Need To Get By - Method Man Feat. Mary J. Blige
6. Get Me Home - Foxy Brown Feat. Blackstreet
7. Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem) - JAY-Z
8. Get At Me Dog - DMX Feat. Sheek
9. Doin' It - LL Cool J
10. Da Rockwilder - Method Man & Redman
11. Party Up (Up In Here) - DMX
12. Tell 'Em - Erick Sermon

Disc-4 Track Listing
1. 99 Problems - JAY-Z
2. Thong Song - Sisqo
3. Just Friends (Sunny) - Musiq Soulchild
4. Put It On Me - Ja Rule Feat. Vita
5. Is That Your Chick (The Lost Verses) - Memphis Bleek Feat. JAY-Z, Twista & Missy Elliott
6. Izzo (H.O.V.A.) - JAY-Z
7. The Truth - Beanie Sigel
8. Oh Boy - Cam'Ron Feat. Juelz Santana
9. Guess Who's Back - Scarface Feat. JAY-Z & Beanie Sigel
10. What We Do - Freeway Feat. JAY-Z & Beanie Sigel
11. Southern Hospitality - Ludacris Feat. Pharrell
12. Jesus Walks - Kanye West

Disc-5 Track Listing
1. Gold Digger - Kanye West Feat. Jamie Foxx
2. And Then What - Young Jeezy Feat. Mannie Fresh
3. There It Go (The Whistle Song) - Juelz Santana
4. Hustlin' - Rick Ross
5. Back Like That - Ghostface Killah Feat. Ne-Yo
6. So Sick - Ne-Yo
7. Hip Hop Is Dead - Nas Feat.
8. Don't Feel Right - The Roots Feat. Maimouna Youssef
9. Umbrella - Rihanna Feat. JAY-Z
10. Make Me Better - Fabolous Feat. Ne-Yo
11. Shawty Is Da Sh*! - The-Dream
12. Put On - Young Jeezy Feat. Kanye West


Label Universal Music Group
SKU 212122041
UPC 602527175188
UPC 14 00602527175188
Format CD
Release Date 10/6/2009
Author Various
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details