shop by

Doris Betts (Hardcover)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

A prominent voice in Southern literature, Doris Betts is the author of six novels and three short story collections, including Beasts of the Southern Wild (1973), Souls Raised from the Dead (1994), and The Sharp Teeth of Love (1997). Set primarily in North Carolina, Betts's fiction frequently depicts blue-collar workers and middle-class people who demonstrate perseverance, cheerfulness, and a refusal to be victimized. Her fiction reflects a strong biblical influence, everyday common sense, and durable humor. In Doris Betts - the first book-length study of Betts and her work - Elizabeth Evans presents an introduction to a writer of increasing renown. Drawing on a long association with Betts, Evans infuses her analysis with biographical details and provides expert syntheses of Betts's stories and novels, including uncollected stories and works-in-progress. Maintaining that a lack of or difficulty in achieving communion forms the dominant theme of Betts's fiction, Evans highlights key people and events shaping the writer's work: from the church-centered and patriotic Statesville, North Carolina, where Betts grew up in the aftermath of the Great Depression and during World War II, to her college contacts with writers such as Randall Jarrell, Robie Macauley, and Katherine Anne Porter.


Publisher Twayne Publishers
Mfg Part# 9780805778267
SKU 202594091
Format Hardcover
ISBN10 0805778268
Release Date 8/13/2012
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details