shop by
Category
items
0 

Eels : An Exploration, from New Zealand to the Sargasso, of the World's Most Mysterious Fish (Paperback)

Author: Prosek, James

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

"This is a delightful work with the urgency of a good detective story." --Thomas McGuane

"I loved it! A beautiful adventure story of one of the most wide-spread and least-known but ecologically important fish." --Bernd Heinrich, author of Summer World

Famous for his deeply informed, compulsively readable books on trout, writer-painter James Prosek (whom the New York Times has called "the Audubon of the fishing world") takes on nature''s quirkiest and most enigmatic fish: the eel. Fans of Mark Kurlansky''s Cod and The Big Oyster or Trevor Corson''s The Secret Life of Lobsters will love Prosek''s probing exploration of the hidden deep-water dwellers. With characteristically captivating prose and lavish illustrations, Prosek demystifies the eel''s unique biology and bizarre mating routines, and illuminates the animal''s varied roles in the folklore, cuisine, and commerce of a variety of cultures.

Specifications

Publisher Perennial
Mfg Part# 9780060566128
SKU 220178303
Format Paperback
ISBN10 0060566124
Release Date 10/11/2011
Product Attributes
eBooks Kobo
Book Format Paperback
Number of Pages 0304
Publisher Harper Perennial
loading
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
ADVERTISEMENT
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details
Buy From Other Sellers (0)
kobo
  • Take your library with you wherever you go
  • Use the device you want to use… smartphone, desktop and many of today’s most popular eReaders

WHY KOBO?

We love the Kobo eReading service… and we know you will too. We’ve partnered with them to bring you the most flexible, enjoyable eReading experience in the U.S.

SHOPPING ON KOBO

You’ll be asked to sign in or create a new account with Kobo. Once you do, you’ll immediately get access to millions of titles and be ready to start eReading. Anytime. Anyplace.

continue to kobo
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT