shop by

Glitter In The Gutter(Limited Edition) - 30038

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Glitter in the Gutter, Jesse Malin's newest album, is a raw modern record of 13 stellar songs that feels like a celebration of life. The album begins with a guitar hook laden anthemic rocker "Don't Let Them Take You Down", journeys through smashing up-tempo pop songs titled "In the Modern World", "Prisoners of Paradise", "Black Haired Girl" and "Little Star", and goes down for two honest inspirational moments with a duet fueled song titled "Broken Radio", and a piano lead version of "Bastards of Young" (The Replacements). Glitter in the Gutter further dances along with the melodically wondrous song "Lucinda". It has a sneaker swagger with the likes of "NY Nights". Malin's "Tomorrow Tonight" champions the notion of reckless abandonment with an in your face tribal groove. The album gently closes with a soulful acoustic and aptly titled thought provoking track "Aftermath". On this record, Jesse writes about struggles and smiles; about finding ways to 'keep on keeping on' with the lyrically intimate slice of life and detail he is known for, while covering a larger palate to connect with people in every part of the world. He conveys happiness and sadness in the same note, using both electric guitars and acoustics, modern keyboards and acoustic piano, power driven drums and happy jangly percussions with driving bass lines and big voice choruses, thus defining the ebb and flow of Glitter in the Gutter.

He's transcended tags like "singer/songwriter" for something different and largely indefinable with this album, which was recorded over the summer and fall of 2006 for his new record label Adeline Records. With a few special guests contributing on vocals and guitars, and a few years of touring experience behind his first two critically acclaimed albums The Fine Art of Self Destruction and The Heat, Jesse Malin's Glitter in the Gutter is an energetic infused moving record with defiant and exuberant spirit.

This Limited Edition features an 11 minute trailer to the forthcoming Jesse Malin documentary, They're Way Ahead Out There, by J.J. Pennebaker.

Track Listing
1. Don't Let Them Take You Down (Beautiful Day)
2. In the Modern World
3. Tomorrow Night
4. Broken Radio
5. Prisoners of Paradise
6. Black Haired Girl
7. Lucinda
8. Love Streams
9. Little Star
10. Bastards of Young
11. Happy Ever After (Since You're in Love 2007)
12. NY Nights
13. Aftermath


Manufacturer Adeline Records/ada
Mfg Part# 30038
SKU 204171745
UPC 655223003828
UPC 14 00655223003828
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details