shop by

Silence of God : And Other Plays by Catherine Filloux (Paperback)

Customer Reviews   Write a Review

Be the first to review this item and earn 25 Rakuten Super Points™

Product Overview

Filloux's plays explore social justice from a global perspective, with a focus on Western liberalism. Themes of "honor killing," the Khmer Rouge genocide, human responsibility in the face of lawlessness, and women's rights are treated with a lyricism that is at once anguished, brutal and poetic. In her plays, Filloux places the personal in the political using imaginative and evocative theatricality. Her characters look through to other worlds, illuminating the complexity of different cultures and the difficulty of seeking justice. This volume is a collection of five new plays by Catherine Filloux, with introductions for each play by the leading scholars who provide context and commentary on the range of Filloux's drama.Lemkin's House is a surreal portrait of Raphael Lemkin, the man who coined the word genocide. InThe Beauty Inside, Filloux places the audience in the midst of a culture war after an attempted "honor killing." In Eyes of the Heart, a Cambodian refugee woman suffers from psychosomatic blindness.Silence of God depicts America's complicity through the eyes of a journalist, at the end of the Pol Pot leadership.Mary and Myra is a play about one woman (Mary Todd Lincoln) damned by her reputation, saved by one (Myra Badwell) who was damned into obscurity.


Publisher Seagull Books
Mfg Part# 9781906497095
SKU 210525258
Format Paperback
ISBN10 1906497095
Release Date 3/31/2009
Sold Out
Sorry, you missed the deal!
This product is currently not available.
Promotions & Offers (1)
  •  custom promo
    5% Back* Sitewide with Promo Code Rewardme *See page for details